Topic "[5.0.2 1456] Can't restore window from tray"

Author Message
Adambean
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2011-09-07
Posts: 5
Location: Cardiff, South Wales
I have the option defined in Preferences->Enviroment->Window to minimize the window to the system tray.

WinSCP appears in the tray once minimized, however it can't be opened again. Left/right clicking it does nothing, though the site name I'm connected to shows up in the tool tip.

Using beta 5.0.2 build 1456 on Windows 7 (x64).
_________________
Thanks,

Adam Reece.
Advertisements
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24553
Location: Prague, Czechia
I cannot reproduce the problem.
In what state do you minimize the window? When idle, during transfer, while synchronizing...? Did you have the problem with 4.3.x?
ajmaske
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2011-10-03
Posts: 1
Location: California, USA
Using Version 5.0.2 (Build 1456) on Windows XP (w/ all service packs) ...

Same thing here... almost every time, and seems random. Once it goes to the tray it may or may not come back, the only way back is to close the process and restart the app...

I've always done it normal window state (not maximized) and when idle... I didn't ever see it happen in v 4.3.x ...
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24553
Location: Prague, Czechia
Thanks. I'll contact you soon.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Adambean
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2011-09-07
Posts: 5
Location: Cardiff, South Wales
It's always from maximized for me. Got your email.

Just tried it out, seems to be fixed. Tried from normal and maximized windows -- thank you Smile

Edit: Also restores fine during non-background transfers.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24553
Location: Prague, Czechia
Hm, that's not good. I haven't fixed anything. I'll send you another build soon.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24553
Location: Prague, Czechia
This bug has been added to the tracker:
http://winscp.net/tracker/show_bug.cgi?id=745
fmccown

Guest


I have WinSCP 5.0.5 beta installed on Windows 7 (64) and am having the same problem. Version 4.3.6 also had the same problem. When I launch the program, it immediately appears in the taskbar, but the window will not come up. Clicking on it in the taskbar will not bring up the window although I can see the small preview window that Windows 7 shows for apps that are minimized in the taskbar... it is showing the WinSCP Login screen. I've attached a screen shot.

I've tried uninstalling and re-installing and rebooting. I've used an earlier version of WinSCP (4.?) for months on the same machine and never had this problem. It just started happening today.
winscp_problem.png (161.63 KB)

Description: WinSCP Login preview window is displayed when mouse is placed on WinSCP icon in the taskbar.

winscp_problem.png

fmccown

Guest


I figured out the problem... the app was popping-up on a second monitor which I had turned off. Confused Please disregard.
Ed

Guest


I had the same Issue.

Workaround:

- Open task manager
- Seek for the WinSCP process
- Right clic and select "Switch to"

Regards
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24553
Location: Prague, Czechia
Ed wrote:
I had the same Issue.

Workaround:

- Open task manager
- Seek for the WinSCP process
- Right clic and select "Switch to"

Regards

Are you able to reproduce your problem using the latest version of WinSCP?
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Guest




I have the same Issue on Windows 7 with WinSCP v5.1.7 Build 3446.

If I minimize a WinSCP window during a long file transfer, I can't get it to restore. I have even tried Ed's workaround, but it doesn't restore the window.

Regards,

Shahriar.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24553
Location: Prague, Czechia
Anonymous wrote:
I have the same Issue on Windows 7 with WinSCP v5.1.7 Build 3446.

If I minimize a WinSCP window during a long file transfer, I can't get it to restore. I have even tried Ed's workaround, but it doesn't restore the window.

Can you send me an email, so I can send you back a debug version of WinSCP to track the problem? Please include link back to this topic in your email. Also note in this topic that you have sent the email. Thanks.

You will find my address (if you log in) in my forum profile.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
rt

Guest


Same problem. When I launch WinSCP, it appears in tray but won't open up on the desktop. Been using this program for years. Problem started a few weeks ago, perhaps after an Windows update? Upgrading to the most recent version of WinSCP didn't solve the problem. Advice?
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24553
Location: Prague, Czechia
rt wrote:
Same problem. When I launch WinSCP, it appears in tray but won't open up on the desktop. Been using this program for years. Problem started a few weeks ago, perhaps after an Windows update? Upgrading to the most recent version of WinSCP didn't solve the problem. Advice?

Can you send me an email, so I can send you back a debug version of WinSCP to track the problem? Please include link back to this topic in your email. Also note in this topic that you have sent the email. Thanks.

You will find my address (if you log in) in my forum profile.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
OW

Guest


I'm having the same problem.

Has this still not been fixed since 2011?
OW

Guest


I'm on the latest version. 5.5.1
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24553
Location: Prague, Czechia
OW wrote:
I'm having the same problem.

Has this still not been fixed since 2011?

Thanks for your report.

Can you send me an email, so I can send you back a debug version of WinSCP to track the problem? Please include link back to this topic in your email. Also note in this topic that you have sent the email. Thanks.

You will find my address (if you log in) in my forum profile.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
barrios
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2014-10-07
Posts: 1
Location: San Diego
I seem to be having the same problem as everyone else and I just loaded the latest WinSCP 5.5.5 on my machine. I'm using Windows 7 Enterprise SP1. Any idea when this'll be fixed?
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24553
Location: Prague, Czechia
barrios wrote:
I seem to be having the same problem as everyone else and I just loaded the latest WinSCP 5.5.5 on my machine. I'm using Windows 7 Enterprise SP1. Any idea when this'll be fixed?

Thanks for your report.
I have sent you an email with a debug version of WinSCP to address you have used to register on this forum.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Roger Ramjet

Guest


I know this thread is old, but I have just run into the opening in the taskbar and not restoring issue. Here's what I found. My setup is a laptop which is connected to two external monitors with one of them designated as the primary. The start menu and such shows on that monitor and I start all my programs in the usual manor from there. However, WinSCP appears to open in the task bar already minimized. What I found after reading through this thread is that the program did open normally, but is showing on the laptop's screen instead of the designated primary display. I can drag the window to where I want, but I believe you should be able to obey the monitor designations when you open the primary window (since all other programs I'm running seem to have no problem).

Hope this helps!

Roger
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24553
Location: Prague, Czechia
Roger Ramjet wrote:
I know this thread is old, but I have just run into the opening in the taskbar and not restoring issue. Here's what I found. My setup is a laptop which is connected to two external monitors with one of them designated as the primary. The start menu and such shows on that monitor and I start all my programs in the usual manor from there. However, WinSCP appears to open in the task bar already minimized. What I found after reading through this thread is that the program did open normally, but is showing on the laptop's screen instead of the designated primary display. I can drag the window to where I want, but I believe you should be able to obey the monitor designations when you open the primary window (since all other programs I'm running seem to have no problem).

So your system actually has three displays, right? WinSCP (as many other applications) always starts on the same display it was closed the last time. So if you closed WinSCP on your laptop screen, it opens there the next time. No matter what your primary display is.
metoo

Guest


fmccown wrote:
I figured out the problem... the app was popping-up on a second monitor which I had turned off. Confused Please disregard.


me too Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Guest




I have the same Issue on Windows 10 with WinSCP v5.7.7 Build 6257.

Started to use the auto synchronize feature today. If I minimize the WinSCP window during "Keep remote directory up to date", I can't get it to restore. I have also tried Ed's workaround, but it doesn't restore the window.

- sftp
- commander

Regards,
christoph
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24553
Location: Prague, Czechia
Anonymous wrote:
Started to use the auto synchronize feature today. If I minimize the WinSCP window during "Keep remote directory up to date", I can't get it to restore. I have also tried Ed's workaround, but it doesn't restore the window.

So you click Minimize button on the "Keep remote directory up to date" window.
And if you immediately afterwards (without changing any file), click the WinSCP tray icon, it won't restore?
christoph

Guest


It ist not Minimize to tray it is just Minimize, correct.
Minimizes to Windows bar and not to tray.

Thanks and have a nice weekend.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24553
Location: Prague, Czechia
Thanks for your report.

Can you send me an email, so I can send you back a debug version of WinSCP to track the problem? Please include link back to this topic in your email. Also note in this topic that you have sent the email. Thanks.

You will find my address (if you log in) in my forum profile.
christoph
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2016-03-30
Posts: 2
Hi, U got mail.
Greetings.
Guest




Hi prikryl,

sorry for the late respond. I've tested sveral days and winscp works absolutely fine. I really don't know what the problem was the other two evenings. I think windows 10 is to blame for that, because while I tested winscp I noticed similar problems with the taskbar.

Sorry to bother you, have a good time.
christoph
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2016-03-30
Posts: 2
christoph wrote:
Hi prikryl,

sorry for the late respond. I've tested sveral days and winscp works absolutely fine. I really don't know what the problem was the other two evenings. I think windows 10 is to blame for that, because while I tested winscp I noticed similar problems with the taskbar.

Sorry to bother you, have a good time.

forgot to insert my name Embarassed
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24553
Location: Prague, Czechia
Thanks for your feedback.
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License