Topic "Invalid access to memory creating directories on local host"

Author Message
yruslan
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2013-02-19
Posts: 2
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
An message box with following error message appears every time I make new directory on my local machine:

"Invalid access to memory"

The new directory, nevertheless, is created.

My configuration:
- WinSCP version 5.1.4 (the error occurs only on 5.x.x)
- Windows 7 (64 bit)
- occurs only when using SFTP protocol (SCP and FTP are ok)
Advertisements
braykov
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2013-02-12
Posts: 88
I got the same problem. The only differences are:
Windows 7 is 32bit.
Connection is SCP, but I don't think it matters.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24553
Location: Prague, Czechia
Thanks for your report.
I have sent an email with a debug version of WinSCP to both of you.
yruslan
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2013-02-19
Posts: 2
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
It seems the error occurs
- When "Preferences/Environment/Panels/Full row select" option is set true.
- Not on every time and it depends on path.
My path is "D:\TEST\q" (empty inside)
I try to create directory "1" inside it.
braykov
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2013-02-12
Posts: 88
I tested and the error shows with both options of "Full row select" - on and off.
I am inside C: and there are other folders and files.
braykov
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2013-02-12
Posts: 88
Hi, the latest exe you sent me still crashes immediately after connected.
Please, note I gave it all possible permissions, put it in my (I am owner) own folder and ran it as Administrator.
Should I try with another exe?
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24553
Location: Prague, Czechia
braykov wrote:
Hi, the latest exe you sent me still crashes immediately after connected.
Please, note I gave it all possible permissions, put it in my (I am owner) own folder and ran it as Administrator.
Should I try with another exe?

Please use the latest build I've sent you and email me the trace log file.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
braykov
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2013-02-12
Posts: 88
OK, done. You got it
Piramidon
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2013-03-15
Posts: 3
WinSCP 5.1.4
Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Having the same annoying problem - "Invalid access to memory"

One of the ways to reproduce: While connected using SFTP, single left-click any file on a remote panel to make it editable and then click the Refresh button above that panel or Ctrl-R.

Sometimes this error occurs when dragging files to/from the local panel or by trying to unpack archive in the local panel using right-click menu.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24553
Location: Prague, Czechia
yruslan wrote:
An message box with following error message appears every time I make new directory on my local machine:

"Invalid access to memory"

The new directory, nevertheless, is created.

My configuration:
- WinSCP version 5.1.4 (the error occurs only on 5.x.x)
- Windows 7 (64 bit)
- occurs only when using SFTP protocol (SCP and FTP are ok)

This bug has been added to the tracker:
http://winscp.net/tracker/show_bug.cgi?id=983
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24553
Location: Prague, Czechia
Piramidon wrote:
WinSCP 5.1.4
Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Having the same annoying problem - "Invalid access to memory"

One of the ways to reproduce: While connected using SFTP, single left-click any file on a remote panel to make it editable and then click the Refresh button above that panel or Ctrl-R.

Sometimes this error occurs when dragging files to/from the local panel or by trying to unpack archive in the local panel using right-click menu.

Thanks for your report.
I have sent you an email with a debug version of WinSCP to address you have used to register on this forum.
Piramidon
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2013-03-15
Posts: 3
prikryl wrote:

Thanks for your report.
I have sent you an email with a debug version of WinSCP to address you have used to register on this forum.


This version works like clockwork - I was unable to reproduce that bug.
Thanks for caring! Smile
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24553
Location: Prague, Czechia
Piramidon wrote:
This version works like clockwork - I was unable to reproduce that bug.
Thanks for caring! Smile

Thanks for your feeeback!
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License