Topic "[BUG][5.2.3]Column Time on Queue List - empty after transfer"

Author Message
braykov
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2013-02-12
Posts: 88
The column Time does not show any helpful information.
During transfer it shows 00:00:00 all the time.
And After transfer it is just empty.

The Help says: "Empty for waiting transfers." But the value is <empty> after the transfer has already finished. I thought it should show something like 00:00:03 if the transferred took 3 seconds.

The Help also says: "Estimated time till end of transfer, if known. Total time already spent on transfer, otherwise."
This is mixing two different parameters of the transfer. ETA is one thing, maybe should be a separate column. "Elapsed" is another. And what does it mean "if known"? The user doesn't know "if known" (WinSCP knows), so the user doesn't know which value is displayed.

Idea Suggestion: split into two columns:
1) ETA - estimated time, if known/available. After transfer, it should become empty.
2) Elapsed - during transfer should show the time passed since beginning of transfer. After finish, it should keep the value of total time it took to transfer the time.
Advertisements
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24530
Location: Prague, Czechia
The primary purpose of the "Time" column is to show estimated time.

It says only "Time", not "Estimated", because it shows only elapsed time, when user explicitly turns off calculating total transfer size:
http://winscp.net/eng/docs/ui_transfer_custom

So the user knows, what it shows. The title can be possibly updated depending on the above setting state. It's just that if you change the option in the middle of a transfer, the column value meaning will indeed differ among transfers. But just temporarily.

I have updated the documentation to include this:
http://winscp.net/eng/docs/ui_queue

Also, I do not think that anyone really needs to see both elapsed and estimated time at the same time.

Anyway, if it shows 00:00:00 all the time for you, it's indeed wrong. Can you possibly record a video of what you are doing? E.g. using screenr.com or similar service.
braykov
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2013-02-12
Posts: 88
Here's the screenr: http://www.screenr.com/mnmH
I am editing a big text file and when I am saving it, it is transferred in the background.
When it takes 2-3 seconds it just shows 00:00:00.
If the file is above 2MB, then it properly shows the time.

The whole thing was about keeping the time value on the screen after the transfer is finished.
Why do you have to hide the value in column Time?
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24530
Location: Prague, Czechia
braykov wrote:
Here's the screenr: http://www.screenr.com/mnmH
I am editing a big text file and when I am saving it, it is transferred in the background.
When it takes 2-3 seconds it just shows 00:00:00.
If the file is above 2MB, then it properly shows the time.

Ok, but I guess you can imagine that time estimate over the first few seconds cannot really be accurate. Many application actually do not even show any estimate first few seconds. It's actually quite likely that the initial upload estimate greatly underestimates the expected time as there's some buffer on nearly all networking layers, what makes the upload of first few 100's KB seemingly nearly instantaneous. Hence the 00:00:00 estimate.

Quote:
The whole thing was about keeping the time value on the screen after the transfer is finished.
Why do you have to hide the value in column Time?

In the default setup, the value is decreasing to 00:00:00. What's the point of keeping it there forever?
_________________
Martin Prikryl
braykov
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2013-02-12
Posts: 88
Ok, so my speed is good, that's why I get zeros. I would agree with that.

But one thing is that I want be able to see after a transfer was finished. Regardless of options about calculating, a transfer took some time, which was measured, so I would just like to see there the time it took for a transfer to finish. Can you do this?
Elapsed time is always shown on non-background transfers, but after a transfer finishes, the dialog box is closed. On a background transfer, the info on the transfer stays (I keep it forever), so would it be possible to just keep there the value of the transfer duration, please?
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24530
Location: Prague, Czechia
This request has been added to the tracker:
http://winscp.net/tracker/show_bug.cgi?id=1041
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License