Topic "BUG [5.5.3] Tree pane does not refresh"

Author Message
braykov
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2013-02-12
Posts: 88
Hi,
I cannot get to refresh the tree windows of the local pane.
Neither does it refresh automatically, nor via explicit Refresh.
Try changing a directory name outside WinSCP and go back to refresh it.
It only works if I browse in the file pane - going up the tree and then back down.
Advertisements
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24555
Location: Prague, Czechia
What specifically does not refresh? Like that you add a new folder and it does not show up in the tree?
_________________
Martin Prikryl
braykov
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2013-02-12
Posts: 88
Everything - rename a directory, newly created sibling directory, deleted sibling directory.
Refresh works on the bottom (file) pane, but the tree pane remains the same.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24555
Location: Prague, Czechia
I have sent you an email with a debug version of WinSCP to address you have used to register on this forum.
braykov
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2013-02-12
Posts: 88
Log sent via mail.
BTW I think the following might help you:
I noticed that when locally I work on C: drive there are no problems.
However I have opened drive O: (you will see it in the log) which is mapped shared drive from a file server.
I think there the problem lies.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24555
Location: Prague, Czechia
braykov wrote:
Log sent via mail.
BTW I think the following might help you:
I noticed that when locally I work on C: drive there are no problems.
However I have opened drive O: (you will see it in the log) which is mapped shared drive from a file server.
I think there the problem lies.

Thanks. It helped.

This bug has been added to the tracker:
http://winscp.net/tracker/show_bug.cgi?id=1180

I'm sending you a dev version for testing.
braykov
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2013-02-12
Posts: 88
I tested your dev version - it works properly.
Now I can't wait for v5.6 Very Happy
braykov
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2013-02-12
Posts: 88
I just noticed this bug is again present in 5.7.3.
I added a sibling directory outside WinSCP. I went back to WinSCP and while I was focused on a sibling directory in the tree pane, I clicked CTRL+R.
The new dir did not show up. Again I needed to go up a tree, only then it refreshes.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24555
Location: Prague, Czechia
braykov wrote:
I just noticed this bug is again present in 5.7.3.
I added a sibling directory outside WinSCP. I went back to WinSCP and while I was focused on a sibling directory in the tree pane, I clicked CTRL+R.
The new dir did not show up. Again I needed to go up a tree, only then it refreshes.

Can you reproduce it? I have sent you an email with a debug version.
braykov
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2013-02-12
Posts: 88
I just sent you the log.
Here's a short description of what I did:

- I opened WinSCP and clicked on a local directory in the tree view.
- I created outside WinSCP a directory next to the one I have under focus - a sibling directory.
- I went back to WinSCP - the directory is not shown automatically.
- I pressed CTRL+R several times - the new directory is still not seen in the tree view pane.
- I exited Winscp.

Again, pls, note the local directories are actually on a mapped drive to a Windows file server.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24555
Location: Prague, Czechia
WinSCP does not monitor network drives (except for the current working directory). Even the Ctrl+R refreshes just the current working directory.
braykov
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2013-02-12
Posts: 88
Well, it seems that it IS monitoring them.
I tried the following:
- Focus on a directory in the local tree pane
- Create a sub-directory of the focused one outside WinSCP
And WinSCP immediately showed it in the tree pane.
Maybe it is treating it as non-network, because it is mapped but it seems it is monitoring it.

But even if it does not monitor, that is why the explicit reload key combination exists, right? To be able to force reload. No?

But OK, if you don't consider this a bug, would you accept it as an enhancement request?
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24555
Location: Prague, Czechia
braykov wrote:
Well, it seems that it IS monitoring them.
I tried the following:
- Focus on a directory in the local tree pane
- Create a sub-directory of the focused one outside WinSCP
And WinSCP immediately showed it in the tree pane.

As I wrote, "except for the current working directory". It is monitored.

Quote:
But even if it does not monitor, that is why the explicit reload key combination exists, right? To be able to force reload. No?

The Refresh reloads the current working directory, not the parent directory.

Quote:
But OK, if you don't consider this a bug, would you accept it as an enhancement request?

What exactly? To optionally monitor network drives? Or a command to refresh all folders opened in the directory tree?
braykov
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2013-02-12
Posts: 88
Ok, I think now I understand the issue.
So WinSCP does monitor directories outside the current working directory (the focused one), except for network drives. This seems reasonable, because of speed issues.
Then the request would be, indeed to forcefully refresh all folders opened in the directory tree with CTRL+R.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24555
Location: Prague, Czechia
OK. Will try. Thanks for your suggestion!
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License