Topic "make "stop" file transmission instead of "delete" file trans"

Author Message
michaa
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2005-05-15
Posts: 16
Hi,

trying to abort (delete) a transmission from remote to local server results in a deletet file on the remote server. This I didn't want to do. And I do not know how this happend. Ok, my fault but, please, could you make it more clear and better to distinguish whether a transmission is deleted or a file is deleted.
I would appreciate it very much if in the contextmenu of the file in transmission one could have "abort" transmission instead of "delete".
Again, I do not know, how I deleted the file!
_________________
greetz

michaa
Advertisements
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24530
Location: Prague, Czechia
The Delete command removes transfer from queue. If it is already in-progress transfer, it of course also aborts it. So I believe that Delete is more appropriate then Abort. Howeven I'm more interested in your other problem. Do I understand right that when you have aborted background download, your remote file was lost? What protocol are you using, SFTP or SCP? Can you reproduce the problem?
_________________
Martin Prikryl
michaa
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2005-05-15
Posts: 16
prikryl wrote:
The Delete command removes transfer from queue. If it is already in-progress transfer, it of course also aborts it. So I believe that Delete is more appropriate then Abort.


It seems appropriate, but it is confusing Wink


Quote:
Howeven I'm more interested in your other problem. Do I understand right that when you have aborted background download, your remote file was lost? What protocol are you using, SFTP or SCP? Can you reproduce the problem?


I am not sure whether or not you see it as a problem or as wantet effect:

Yes, now I have understood, why the file was delete (instead of the transmission) and yes, you can reproduce easily.

All works as it should if you delete the highlightened transmission via the "delete" command in the context menue. But if you use the "delete" button at the bottom of the window, you do NOT delete the transmission, but the file! No matter what file of the two files you highlight IN TRANSFERRE WINDOW. This, I think, should not be. Whatever happens to a highlighted file in the transferre window should affect the transmission only . If I want to delete a file, I will mark this file in HIS window, and nowhere else. You are right saying: But there is a popup window. But again: This behaviour nevertheless is confusing and IMHO WinSCP should NOT delete files this way.

BTW: It is SFTP
_________________
greetz

michaa
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24530
Location: Prague, Czechia
michaa wrote:
But if you use the "delete" button at the bottom of the window, you do NOT delete the transmission, but the file! No matter what file of the two files you highlight IN TRANSFERRE WINDOW. This, I think, should not be. Whatever happens to a highlighted file in the transferre window should affect the transmission only . If I want to delete a file, I will mark this file in HIS window, and nowhere else. You are right saying: But there is a popup window. But again: This behaviour nevertheless is confusing and IMHO WinSCP should NOT delete files this way.

I'm not sure if you aware of the or not, but the "delete" button on the bottom of the window is for deleting file (selected in file panel). It has nothing to do with the queue.

You will see that in the confirmation message:
Quote:
Are you sure you want to delete file '???'?

_________________
Martin Prikryl
michaa
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2005-05-15
Posts: 16
prikryl wrote:

I'm not sure if you aware of the or not, but the "delete" button on the bottom of the window is for deleting file (selected in file panel). It has nothing to do with the queue.

You will see that in the confirmation message:
Quote:
Are you sure you want to delete file '???'?


Now I am aware of it! After having lost a file. Now I can handle it, but it is and it remains confusing. Now I know how it works, but it still is NOT obvious an remains as a potential source of confusion: You confuse yourself when you highlighten a file in the transferre window (it will be marked with blue background), but it is marked to be executed exclusivly via the context menue. AT THE SAME TIME the file marked time ago in the window showing files of the remote computer is (still remains) marked , too. Unfortunately it is not highlightend with blue background (in this case the conflict would be obvious), but with the pointed line only.

Solution:
1: When you mark (highlighten) a file in the transferre window, all buttons at the bottom are grayed out ( so you can't use them, and you do not need to use them as these buttons do never affect transmissions but files only).
2: You do NOT delete a transmission, (and you do NOT abort it, 'cause this would be a not well fitting definition for a queued transmission as you clarified above) but you may CANCEL it. I think "cancel" would be good for files in transmission AND queued transmissions. Possibliy you use a diffrent icon (not this two crosseed red lines, but something like one red line over a black cirle).
_________________
greetz

michaa
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24530
Location: Prague, Czechia
I'll certainly rename the "delete" command for queue. "Cancel" seems like reasonable choice. I'll also consider what to do with the taskbar. Thanks.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License