Topic "Synch remote-to-local unnecessarilly attempts overwrite"

Author Message
klausner
[View user's profile]
Donor
Joined: 2004-02-18
Posts: 18
Martin,

Timestamps (date and time) AND size are exactly the same on the Confirm window, yet the overwrite is attempted!?!? Remote is RH9 Linux server, local is WinXP.

How can I send a screenshot to you?

Also, can we make the Subject line of the "Post a new topic" wider/bigger?

David
Advertisements
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24512
Location: Prague, Czechia
That's strange.

What protocol are you using, SCP or SFTP?
Are the dates and sizes showns in file panels the same too?
When you allow WinSCP to overwrite the file, does the date/size of the local file change?
_________________
Martin Prikryl
klausner
[View user's profile]
Donor
Joined: 2004-02-18
Posts: 18
It is using SFTP(v3)

No, I was wrong. I noticed that the dates and times are the same, but the sizes shown in the left/right file panels are different. BUT, this is VERY strange because I (1) created the local files on the USB-removable hard drive by using WinSCP to connect within my LAN (intranet) to copy the files from RH9 to a Windows 2003 NTFS-formatted USB-removable hard drive using SFTP protocol, (2) unmounted the USB-removable hard drive from Windows 2003 and connected it to the USB of a WinXP system that was on an internet remote (different ADSL line) from my intranet LAN, (3) used WinSCP on the WinXP in SFTP protocol to remotely connect to the same RH9 that was the original source of the files on the USB-removable hard drive, (4) tried a synchronization. Why would the dates and times be the same, but the file sizes be different? The physical disk is the same USB-removable hard drive on both systems.

Is there a way to send you screenshots?

David

prikryl wrote:
That's strange.

What protocol are you using, SCP or SFTP?
Are the dates and sizes showns in file panels the same too?
When you allow WinSCP to overwrite the file, does the date/size of the local file change?
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24512
Location: Prague, Czechia
klausner wrote:
Why would the dates and times be the same, but the file sizes be different?

Maybe ascii transfer took place? If you are using "size" criteria for comparison for synchronisation, you should better always use binary transfer. I have updated the documentation regarding this.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
klausner
[View user's profile]
Donor
Joined: 2004-02-18
Posts: 18
Transfer Mode was set to automatic. I'll try it with Binary set. I'll report on whether the file sizes mismatch after a (LAN) transfer.

David
klausner
[View user's profile]
Donor
Joined: 2004-02-18
Posts: 18
Martin,

Changing to Transfer Mode to binary from automatic solved the file size problem, as you suggested. Thank you very much.

Also, I suggest that the "Synchronize timestamps only, not files" option on transfers apply (by default and/or as an option) only to files whose sizes are identical on local/remote, because that actually makes more sense than changing timestamps on files that exist both local and remote but that are clearly different because their sizes are different.

Also, how can I remove an exclude mask when I don't want to apply it any longer, or don't want to keep it?

David
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24512
Location: Prague, Czechia
klausner wrote:
Also, I suggest that the "Synchronize timestamps only, not files" option on transfers apply (by default and/or as an option) only to files whose sizes are identical on local/remote, because that actually makes more sense than changing timestamps on files that exist both local and remote but that are clearly different because their sizes are different.

Good idea. Added to TODO list.

Quote:
Also, how can I remove an exclude mask when I don't want to apply it any longer, or don't want to keep it?

Just clear the exclude mask box.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
klausner
[View user's profile]
Donor
Joined: 2004-02-18
Posts: 18
Martin,

I entered an exclude mask "zero", then I realized that there may files by that name downstream in subdirectories that I DO want, so I tried to delete the "zero" mask and replace it with "*/home/*/dev/*" and I succeeded in adding the latter but I can't seem to get "zero" to be removed out of the list ... it's still there. I tried clearing it and running the Synch, but it is still in the list. Also, based on the documentation, I assume that every entry in the list takes effect when the "exclude" mask is used (otherwise how could anyone mask more than one file/directory), so I am a bit confused about what is actually happening in the synchronization when "exclude" is masked.

David
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24512
Location: Prague, Czechia
Do I understand right that you are not able to clear the exclusion mask box permanently? Or that whenever you remove the one particular mask (even by replacing it by other mask) that mask is inserted into the list back somehow?

How do you clear the list? Do you use global transfer settings or particular preset? Do you clear the list from preferences?

I have one idea only what you may have problems with. You may have set the exclude mask in the global transfer settings. And now, you are removing the mask for particular synchronisation operation only (by using Custom option in the transfer settings menu of synchronize dialog). So the next time global transfer settings are used again. Can it be so?
_________________
Martin Prikryl
klausner
[View user's profile]
Donor
Joined: 2004-02-18
Posts: 18
I go to options / preferences / presets, and the window that opens still has "zero" in the pulldown for each default (text, binary) preset mask.

Are all the masks applied for a synchronization, or just the one that shows up in the mask puulldown?
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24512
Location: Prague, Czechia
klausner wrote:
I go to options / preferences / presets, and the window that opens still has "zero" in the pulldown for each default (text, binary) preset mask.

Are all the masks applied for a synchronization, or just the one that shows up in the mask puulldown?

Only the one. The drop down menu is history. It can be used to reuse the masks used in past.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
klausner
[View user's profile]
Donor
Joined: 2004-02-18
Posts: 18
Martin,

so how do I

(1)remove the "zero" mask in the options / preferences / presets, and

(2) apply multiple masks to a particular synchronization operation?

David
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24512
Location: Prague, Czechia
klausner wrote:
(1)remove the "zero" mask in the options / preferences / presets, and

I hoped that you have removed it already and that you just have it in the history list. Do you?

Quote:
(2) apply multiple masks to a particular synchronization operation?

Separate them by semicolon.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
klausner
[View user's profile]
Donor
Joined: 2004-02-18
Posts: 18
(1) thanks, I se it in the Documenattion (also a comma). I guess this makes for long mask entries.

(2) I think I have because it only shows in the history list. The Documentation does not describe the mask pulldown list as "history".
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24512
Location: Prague, Czechia
klausner wrote:
(2) I think I have because it only shows in the history list. The Documentation does not describe the mask pulldown list as "history".

I hope that this does not require documentation. That's natural. Drop down list is usually used either for history or for selecting one item out of fixed list. I haven't seen it be used for configuring list of items. That would be quite unconfortable.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
klausner
[View user's profile]
Donor
Joined: 2004-02-18
Posts: 18
Martin,

Good enough, I think this thread is closed. Thank you for all of your help and hard work.

David
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License