Topic "Network Error - "Invalid Argument""

Author Message
DanHarmer
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2006-06-02
Posts: 1
Hi there,

I have been using WinSCP3 for a long time from laptop and desktop computers. I have a new laptop and it was working, but then one day I got the above message when I tried to login. I have installed the latest version from your website and got the same message.

Please help! I hope this is an easy fix!

Dan Harmer
Servowatch Systems
Advertisements
QSS
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2006-06-02
Posts: 7
Location: Albuqeurque
I was having all our clients switch over to WinScp because it is much fast at transfers. When one of my contractors tried to connect to the server, "Network Error-Invalid Argument" I had them double check the host name and username and password but no luck. I even tried disabling the local Windows XP firewall and they still get the same error. I then had them un-install the software, reboot, and re-install. No luck. Confused
Guest




DanHarmer wrote:


I have a new laptop and it was working, but then one day I got the above message when I tried to login.


The same has occured with my laptop too. I changed my status with my internet provider to "fixed IP address" whereas before the address was simply generated by the provider.

Would this cause the problem, is a fied IP address not compatible with win scp? If so this could also be the reason for your inability to login.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24530
Location: Prague, Czechia
Can you try to login using PuTTY?
_________________
Martin Prikryl
QSS
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2006-06-02
Posts: 7
Location: Albuqeurque
prikryl wrote:
Can you try to login using PuTTY?


My contractor can log in using Putty.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24530
Location: Prague, Czechia
QSS wrote:
My contractor can log in using Putty.

What version? Sorry, I should have asked for this before.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
QSS
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2006-06-02
Posts: 7
Location: Albuqeurque
Quote:
What version? Sorry, I should have asked for this before.


Version 3.8.1
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24530
Location: Prague, Czechia
I've meant version of PuTTY.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Guest




PuTTy 0.58
QSS
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2006-06-02
Posts: 7
Location: Albuqeurque
prikryl wrote:
I've meant version of PuTTY.


Release 0.58 of PuTTy
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24530
Location: Prague, Czechia
Thanks. I'll investigate it.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Guest




I am having the same exact problem. I have reinstalled the program serveral times. Me and my server co are at a total loss as to what is going on. BUT, I am a total noob. How do you log in to WinSCP using putty? I mean, I have putty and can log in as root, but how do I get to WinSCP?

I am used to the warm fuzzy interface used by WSFTP but it doesn't allow root access (which I gotta have with my new server)

SOS! Please help
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24530
Location: Prague, Czechia
Quote:
I am having the same exact problem. I have reinstalled the program serveral times. Me and my server co are at a total loss as to what is going on. BUT, I am a total noob. How do you log in to WinSCP using putty? I mean, I have putty and can log in as root, but how do I get to WinSCP?

Would this FAQ help?
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Barbalex

Guest


Possibly it is to late to post here but if somebody still have the issue and need a solution:

I had the same issue on my WinXP with latest 4.3.3 version.
I was able to resolve the issue. Just run WinSCP as an Administrator.
Seems like something wrong with permissions...
Hope this will be helpful.

Sorry for my English Smile
Gnoll

Guest


Hello,
i have the same problem:


Putty version: 0.63
WinSCP Portable version 5.5.5 (Build 4605)

When i try to put a hostname ( es. www.google.it ) this report as an error: gethostbyname: unknown error

if i try to connect with the IP address the error is: Network error: Invalid Argument

Windows 7 Enterprise 64 Bit ( Managed in a Windows Domain )

i've set in debug mode, if can be helpful this is the log:
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.744 --------------------------------------------------------------------------
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.744 WinSCP Version 5.5.5 (Build 4605) (OS 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 - Windows 7 Enterprise)
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.755 Configuration: \\root.tradedoubler.com\TD\Telford\Home\emagr\WinSCP.ini
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.756 Local account: TRADEDOUBLER\emagr
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.756 Working directory: \\root.tradedoubler.com\TD\Telford\Home\emagr
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.756 Process ID: 9024
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.756 Command-line: "\\root.tradedoubler.com\TD\Telford\Home\emagr\WinSCP.exe"
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.756 Time zone: Current: GMT+1, Standard: GMT+0 (GMT Standard Time), DST: GMT+1 (GMT Daylight Time), DST Start: 3/30/2014, DST End: 10/26/2014
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.756 Login time: Tuesday, October 07, 2014 3:58:26 PM
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.756 --------------------------------------------------------------------------
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 Session name: IP.ADDR.ESS.HIDE (Ad-Hoc site)
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 Host name: IP.ADDR.ESS.HIDE (Port: 22)
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 User name: (Password: No, Key file: No)
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 Tunnel: No
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 Transfer Protocol: SFTP (SCP)
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 Ping type: -, Ping interval: 30 sec; Timeout: 15 sec
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 Proxy: none
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 Send buffer: 262144
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 SSH protocol version: 2; Compression: No
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 Bypass authentication: No
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 Try agent: Yes; Agent forwarding: No; TIS/CryptoCard: No; KI: Yes; GSSAPI: No
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 Ciphers: aes,blowfish,3des,WARN,arcfour,des; Ssh2DES: No
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 SSH Bugs: A,A,A,A,A,A,A,A,A,A
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 Simple channel: Yes
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 Return code variable: Autodetect; Lookup user groups: A
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 Shell: default
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 EOL: 0, UTF: 2
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 Clear aliases: Yes, Unset nat.vars: Yes, Resolve symlinks: Yes
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 LS: ls -la, Ign LS warn: Yes, Scp1 Comp: No
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 SFTP Bugs: A,A
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 SFTP Server: default
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 Local directory: default, Remote directory: home, Update: Yes, Cache: Yes
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 Cache directory changes: Yes, Permanent: Yes
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.757 DST mode: 1; Timezone offset: 0h 0m
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.758 --------------------------------------------------------------------------
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.909 Looking up host "IP.ADDR.ESS.HIDE"
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.909 Connecting to IP.ADDR.ESS.HIDE port 22
. 2014-10-07 15:58:26.909 Failed to connect to IP.ADDR.ESS.HIDE: Network error: Invalid argument
* 2014-10-07 15:58:26.994 (EFatal) Network error: Invalid argument
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.230 --------------------------------------------------------------------------
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.231 WinSCP Version 5.5.5 (Build 4605) (OS 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 - Windows 7 Enterprise)
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.240 Configuration: \\root.sanlocal.com\TD\Telford\Home\emagr\WinSCP.ini
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.240 Local account: TRADEDOUBLER\emagr
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.241 Working directory: \\root.sanlocal.com\TD\Telford\Home\emagr
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.241 Process ID: 9024
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.241 Command-line: "\\root.sanlocal.com\TD\Telford\Home\emagr\WinSCP.exe"
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.241 Time zone: Current: GMT+1, Standard: GMT+0 (GMT Standard Time), DST: GMT+1 (GMT Daylight Time), DST Start: 3/30/2014, DST End: 10/26/2014
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.241 Login time: Tuesday, October 07, 2014 3:59:07 PM
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.241 --------------------------------------------------------------------------
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.241 Session name: www.google.it (Ad-Hoc site)
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.241 Host name: www.google.it (Port: 22)
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.241 User name: (Password: No, Key file: No)
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.241 Tunnel: No
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.241 Transfer Protocol: SFTP (SCP)
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.242 Ping type: -, Ping interval: 30 sec; Timeout: 15 sec
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.242 Proxy: none
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.242 Send buffer: 262144
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.242 SSH protocol version: 2; Compression: No
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.242 Bypass authentication: No
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.242 Try agent: Yes; Agent forwarding: No; TIS/CryptoCard: No; KI: Yes; GSSAPI: No
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.242 Ciphers: aes,blowfish,3des,WARN,arcfour,des; Ssh2DES: No
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.242 SSH Bugs: A,A,A,A,A,A,A,A,A,A
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.242 Simple channel: Yes
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.242 Return code variable: Autodetect; Lookup user groups: A
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.242 Shell: default
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.242 EOL: 0, UTF: 2
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.242 Clear aliases: Yes, Unset nat.vars: Yes, Resolve symlinks: Yes
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.242 LS: ls -la, Ign LS warn: Yes, Scp1 Comp: No
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.242 SFTP Bugs: A,A
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.242 SFTP Server: default
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.242 Local directory: default, Remote directory: home, Update: Yes, Cache: Yes
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.242 Cache directory changes: Yes, Permanent: Yes
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.243 DST mode: 1; Timezone offset: 0h 0m
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.243 --------------------------------------------------------------------------
. 2014-10-07 15:59:07.360 Looking up host "www.google.it"
* 2014-10-07 15:59:07.424 (EFatal) gethostbyname: unknown error



thanks,
Emanuele.
Guest




an update
the solution is reported here: http://andrewbevitt.com/2010/02/04/putty-gethostbyname-unknown-error/

The problem is that the executable file is launched from a network device ( in my case from the storage on the root server of the windows domain ), should be solved moving the executable of WinSCP on the local computer.

Much information in the link reported up.

Regards,
Emanuele.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24530
Location: Prague, Czechia
Anonymous wrote:
the solution is reported here: http://andrewbevitt.com/2010/02/04/putty-gethostbyname-unknown-error/

The problem is that the executable file is launched from a network device ( in my case from the storage on the root server of the windows domain ), should be solved moving the executable of WinSCP on the local computer.

Much information in the link reported up.

Thanks for sharing this.
I have documented it on:
http://winscp.net/eng/docs/message_network_error_invalid_argument
http://winscp.net/eng/docs/message_gethostbyname_unknown_error
FitzG

Guest


Solution: Copy the executable to a local disk partition. worked as well
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License