Topic "script should echo mkdir"

Author Message
colfer

Guest


When I use a "/script" that includes a "mkdir" the console does not show the command or its result. The "mkdir" does work, but no line is shown in the console.

This is similar to my previous feature request
"script should not overwrite file upload progress"
http://winscp.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2108
Thank you for adding that!

Generally, I think the console should echo every command, or have an option to do so.
Advertisements
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24555
Location: Prague, Czechia
As on most systems, mkdir command does not print anything unless it fails. Why do you mean by "it does not work"?
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Guest




That is what I mean. You are right that it is normal behavior for an interactive shell FTP/SCP session. In my situation, a program I wrote, an editor, uses WinSCP to upload files. I simply create a text file that contains the WinSCP scripting commands and then ShellExecute "winscp.com" with "/script=filename".

Since the user is not typing in the commands, it would be good for the user to see what the script is doing. Thus, an echo would be a good option. For me. Thanks...
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24555
Location: Prague, Czechia
OK, added to TODO list Smile
_________________
Martin Prikryl
harrysmith0

Guest


How can I run WinSCP from a script and not have it echo any information? I do not want the command window to output all the thousands of files copied.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24555
Location: Prague, Czechia
harrysmith0 wrote:
How can I run WinSCP from a script and not have it echo any information? I do not want the command window to output all the thousands of files copied.

Redirect output of the application to "nul".
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Guest




prikryl wrote:
harrysmith0 wrote:
How can I run WinSCP from a script and not have it echo any information? I do not want the command window to output all the thousands of files copied.

Redirect output of the application to "nul".


Thank you very much. However, am I right in thinking in this case you must enter username and password in the script. I only get it to work if you do that but it is not desirable as the script is to be run by different users with different passwords. Is it possible to have the username/password challenge and then nothing or redirect to file?

Thanks
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24555
Location: Prague, Czechia
Quote:
Thank you very much. However, am I right in thinking in this case you must enter username and password in the script. I only get it to work if you do that but it is not desirable as the script is to be run by different users with different passwords. Is it possible to have the username/password challenge and then nothing or redirect to file?

You cannot do that.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
oneK
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2007-04-20
Posts: 1
Location: Portugal
I would love this feature also Cool

Nuno
GlobalWarming Awareness2007
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License