Topic "Error while uploading homepage"

Author Message
Fenneko
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2009-12-03
Posts: 4
Hi everybody!

I am quite new to winscp and ftp clients at all. My object is to upload my homepage to a webspace which supports ftp upload.
I downloaded winscp and tried to connect to the server - it worked! I see the directory which is reserved for me and I can upload files to it. I started uploading the folder with the page and around 9 % of all the files I got an error message (photo of the error can be seen here: )

Sorry for my german version (the error means something like: An error accured while transfering the file "D\Program Files\xampp ..."). The strange thing is: I just can't upload some files because the programm tells me that they do not exist although they do! Most of the .jpg images can't be uploaded, but there are some other files and folders too, not just images (for instance also my "lib" folder can't be uploaded.)

Like I said: I am new to ftp clients at all and would be very happy if someone could tell me in a basic vocabulary (Very Happy) what I am doing wrong.
Thanks for every help!
Advertisements
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24555
Location: Prague, Czechia
On the first error message I see "Disk quota exceeded", which means that you have exceeded total limit of files allowed by your provider.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Fenneko
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2009-12-03
Posts: 4
prikryl wrote:
On the first error message I see "Disk quota exceeded", which means that you have exceeded total limit of files allowed by your provider.


That's true, but I just use 10 MB and my limit is something like 400 MB ... so that can't be possible, can't it?
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24555
Location: Prague, Czechia
Fenneko wrote:
That's true, but I just use 10 MB and my limit is something like 400 MB ... so that can't be possible, can't it?

Do not blame me. I just can see that your server refuses you to upload file because of the quota. Maybe you have limit per file as well?
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Fenneko
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2009-12-03
Posts: 4
prikryl wrote:

Do not blame me. I just can see that your server refuses you to upload file because of the quota. Maybe you have limit per file as well?


I don't blame you ^^
Hm no can't be possible either because I uploaded a file which has a size of 47 kb (quite the biggest) and the ones which can't be uploaded are smaller. I will contact the webhost and tell you when I know more.
Fenneko
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2009-12-03
Posts: 4
OK, here we go:

I asked the company which provides my webspace for support and they told me that I only had an available webspace of 20 MB. The 400 MB are just the transfer volumte.

So you were right, I ran out of space but I didn't the the exact available space, I thought it were the 400, the information sheet was a bit confusing.

Thanks for your help!
Topic can be closed.
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License