Topic ""gethostbyname: unknown error""

Author Message
sick

Guest


Happy new year!

everytime i'm tryig to connect this is the message i see. And this is the LogFile:

. --------------------------------------------------------------------------
. WinSCP Version 3.4.2 (Build 197)
. Login time: Samstag, 3. Januar 2004 15:53:47
. --------------------------------------------------------------------------
. Session name: wsl04@informatik.uni-ulm.de
. Host name: informatik.uni-ulm.de (Port: 22)
. User name: wsl04 (Password: Yes, Key file: No)
. Transfer Protocol: SCP
. SSH protocol version: 2; Compression: No
. Agent forwarding: No; TIS/CryptoCard: No; KI: Yes
. Ciphers: aes,blowfish,3des,WARN,des; Ssh2DES: No
. Ping interval: 0 sec (0 = off); Timeout: 15 sec
. SSH Bugs: -,-,-,-,-,-,-,-,
. Proxy: none
. Return code variable: Autodetect; Lookup user groups: Yes
. Shell: default, EOL: 0
. Local directory: default, Remote directory: home, Update: No, Cache: Yes
. Clear aliases: Yes, Unset nat.vars: Yes, Resolve symlinks: Yes
. Alias LS: No, Ign LS warn: Yes, Scp1 Comp: No
. --------------------------------------------------------------------------
. Looking up host "informatik.uni-ulm.de"
* (ESshFatal) gethostbyname: unknown error

I've tried various versions of WinSCP (even 1.0, which worked really fine for me about 2 years ago).Anyone got an idea?
Advertisements
sick

Guest


OK,

maybe i should post some more information: I'm using WinXP with SP1 (without SP1 same problem) and a 56k Modem. I'm using ZoneAlarm Pro as a firewall, but WinSCP doesn't even get so far (or ZA is not telling me). Anyway, disabling it doesn't solve the problem. I don't use any proxy, just Proxomitron as a webfilter. Disabling it also doesnt solve the problem... Don't know what else i can tell you that may help finding a solution.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24554
Location: Prague, Czechia
Please try to connect to your server using Putty SSH client.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
sick

Guest


Ok,

I've tried it, but I get the same error-message. The hostname-lookup doesn't work at all. When I'm trying to login with the IP-Address it works but unfortunately I haven't got the IPs of all the servers I need...
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24554
Location: Prague, Czechia
To lookup IP it should be enough for eaxample to type "ping <hostname>" on DOS command line.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
sick

Guest


thx,

but it isn't so simple. Same problem as in WinSCP (hast-name lookup fails). Seems to be a system-problem. Maybe an XP-Problem, because with Win2000 and 98 I've used WinSCP without problems. But I have no idea what it could be.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24554
Location: Prague, Czechia
sick wrote:
but it isn't so simple. Same problem as in WinSCP (hast-name lookup fails).

So I cannot help you in such case Sad
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License