Network error software caused connection abort, for some SFTP servers but not others

Advertisement

pinkglass26

Network error software caused connection abort, for some SFTP servers but not others

I have been using WinSCP for several years to access files that are stored on someone else's servers. It has always worked with 4 SFTP host names I have used, even with firewalls on.

I tried today to connect to two other SFTP hosts but keep getting the error: network error: software caused connection abort. This happens after the information has been entered and the window comes up saying "Searching for host" and "Connecting to host".

I have confirmed with others that they are able to access the server during the time I have been trying. I have also confirmed that the other hosts I previously used still work so nothing is blocking WinSCP in general.

I have turned off and on Windows Firewall with no change. I have also tried Filezilla and get the same error message.

Does it make any sense that I would be able to connect to some SFTP hosts and not others if the issue was on my end? Anything I can do to fix it? Thanks.

Advertisement

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar

Re: Network error software caused connection abort, for some SFTP servers but not others

You should start by contacting the server administrator to check with them, if the connection attempt reaches the server.

nurain

network error: software caused connection abort Error while tunnelling the connection.

I am facing the same problem...

network error: software caused connection abort
Error while tunnelling the connection.
Administratively prohibited (open filed).

Can anyone help to solve it.

Thanks

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar

Re: network error: software caused connection abort Error while tunnelling the connection.

nurain wrote:

I am facing the same problem...

Error while tunnelling the connection.
Administratively prohibited (open filed).