Unable to connect to domain

Advertisement

Sabor117

Unable to connect to domain

Let me preface this question with an apology: I am a complete newbie when it comes to FTPs in general and so struggle with some of the more technical guides I have tried to read to solve my problem. So I was hoping that if I made a forum post I would be able to get a more detailed and personalized walk-through to solving my issue. With that in mind I'm sorry if the question is something that has been asked a hundred times before and if I don't immediately understand some answers.

So essentially a few days ago I updated a theme on my WordPress website (https://mmgaming.net/) and now trying to access it results in a syntax error. This was the same for trying to log in to the admin section. So I learn that to solve this, I need to access the site using an FTP.

First I tried FileZilla on my work Mac, but was repeatedly getting a 510 Mismatch error every time I tried to log-in. Some checking around online (https://forum.filezilla-project.org/viewtopic.php?t=35311) suggests that this is an issue with Firewalls and not using "Active Mode" on FileZilla (something I didn't know how to set up).

So now I've switched to my home PC and am trying to use WinSCP, as I was hoping it was just my work network that was the problem. First I was getting a time out issue of:
Timeout detected. (control connection)
So then I found a thread saying to turn on Active Mode and to try and and extend the amount of time that it takes to connect. So I unchecked Passive Mode and changed the server response timeout to 30 seconds. This then resulted in a new error:
"A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond."

I am at a complete loss and have no idea what to do or try next. Any help would be massively appreciated. Thanks in advance!