Contents » Using WinSCP »

Overwrite Confirmation

When file being transferred already exists in destination directory, while uploading or downloading, overwrite confirmation prompt is shown, to let you decide what to do.

File Information

The prompt shows file size and last modification timestamp for both files:

  • New: The source file (local file for upload, remote file for download);
  • Existing: The existing destination file (remote file for upload, local file for download).
Advertisements:

Main Actions

The three main actions you can take are:

Action Description
Yes Overwrites the existing destination file with source file.
No Keeps the existing destination file (i.e. skips transfer of source file).
Cancel Cancels whole transfer. This differs from No, when transferring multiple files. While No aborts transfer of the one file only, Cancel aborts transfer of all files.

Advanced Actions

Advanced actions you can take are available in drop down menus of related main action buttons1):

Action Description
Yes to All Overwrites this and all following existing destination files with their respective source files.
This action is available in drop down menu of Yes button. You can also Shift+Click the Yes button.
Newer only Overwrites this and all following existing destination files with respective source files, only if the source file was modified later than the destination file (i.e. source file has newer last modification timestamp than destination file).
This action is available in drop down menu of Yes button. You can also Ctrl+Click the Yes button.
No to All Keeps the existing destination files (i.e. skip transfer of all files that already exist in the destination directory).
This action is available in drop down menu of No button. You can also Shift+Click the No button.
Append Appends source file to the destination file or resumes file transfer.
This action is available in drop down menu of No button. You can also Alt+Click the No button. The action is supported with SFTP protocol only2). If source file is larger than destination file, an additional prompt is shown to choose between appending and resuming file transfer, otherwise appends right away.
Resume Resumes file transfer.
This action is available in drop down menu of No button. You can also Alt+Click the No button. The action is supported with FTP protocol only; and only if source file is larger than destination file. With SFTP protocol, option to resume is offered after choosing Append action (see above).
New name Prompts for new file name to save the source file to in destination directory; and keeps the destination file.
This action is available in drop down menu of No button. You can also Ctrl+Click the No button. The action is supported with SFTP and FTP protocols only.

Suppressing the Confirmation

To suppress the confirmation, check Never ask me again. When checked, the only action you can take is Yes.

You can revert your decision in preferences any time.

1) In Windows XP, all actions are available via separate buttons.
2) Not supported for text mode transfers with SFTP-4 and newer.
 
  ui_overwrite.txt · Last modified: by prikryl
 

Search Documentation

This page

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

Associations

Site design by Black Gate