Differences

This shows you the differences between the selected revisions of the page.

ui_pref_environment 2008-04-07 ui_pref_environment 2019-03-28 (current)
Line 1: Line 1:
-====== Environment Tab ======+====== Environment Page (Preferences Dialog) ======
-The Environment tab allows you to configure behavioural options of WinSCP interface.+The //Environment page// on the [[ui_preferences|Preferences dialog]] allows you to configure behavioral options of WinSCP interface.
&screenshotpict(pref_environment) &screenshotpict(pref_environment)
-More behavioral options are available on subtabs:+More behavioral options are available on subpages:
-   * [[ui_pref_interface | Interface]]+ * [[ui_pref_interface | Interface]]
-   * [[ui_pref_window | Window]]+ * [[ui_pref_window | Window]]
-   * [[ui_pref_panels | Panels]]+ * [[ui_pref_panels | Panels]]
-   * [[ui_pref_commander | Commander]]+ * [[ui_pref_commander | Commander]]
-   * [[ui_pref_explorer | Explorer]]+ * [[ui_pref_explorer | Explorer]]
 +  * [[ui_pref_languages | Languages]]
-===== Confirmations =====+&toc_title_page_sections
-Confirmations panel lets you disable/enable several confirmation boxes that you can be prompted with during various tasks. Some of these confirmations/boxes can also be disabled using //Never ask me again// checkbox on the respective message box (you need to answer it positively to confirm the preference).+
-The //Overwriting of files// checkbox enables overwrite confirmation during file transfers. You also need to have it enabled if you need to use [[resume#alternate_usage|alternative method of transfer resuming]].+===== [[confirmations]] Confirmations =====
 +Confirmations panel lets you disable/enable several confirmation boxes that you can be prompted with during various tasks. Some of these confirmations/boxes can also be disabled using //Never ask me again// (or similar) checkbox on the respective message box (you need to answer it positively to confirm the preference).
-The //Deleting of files// checkbox enables deletion confirmation.+The //Transferring of files// checkbox makes [[ui_copy|transfer options dialog]] show before transferring files. When disabled the transfer starts immediately with [[transfer_settings|default options]]. Confirmation of transfers initiated using drag&drop or uploads to another applications (like Windows File Explorer) using copy&paste can be controlled separately using the option //Drag&drop operations and paste to other applications// below.
-The //Moving files to Recycle bin// checkbox enables confirmation of deleting of files to recycle bin. The option has effect only when [[ui_pref_panels#common_options|deleting of local files to recycle bin]] is allowed or when [[ui_login_environment#recycle_bin|remote recycle bin]] is configured.+The //Overwriting of files// checkbox enables [[ui_overwrite|overwrite confirmation]] during file transfers. You also need to have it enabled if you need to use [[resume#manual|alternative method of transfer resuming]]. For [[ui_pref_background#background_transfers|background transfers]], confirmations are by default suppressed. Use //Change confirmations of background transfers// link to switch to respective options.
-The //Transfer resuming// checkbox enables confirmation of [[resume|transfer resume]]. When disabled, the transfer is resumed automatically whenever possible.+The //Transfer resuming// checkbox enables confirmation of [[resume|transfer resume]]. When disabled, the transfer is resumed automatically whenever possible. For [[ui_pref_background#background_transfers|background transfers]], confirmations are by default suppressed.
-The //Exiting application// checkbox enables confirmation of closing the application.+The //Deleting of files// checkbox enables deletion confirmation.
-The //Exiting application on operation completion// checkbox enables information message shown before application is closed after operation (like file transfer) is finished. I.e. when //Disconnect when operation finishes// was checked. When unchecked the application closes immediately. This also affects uploading files using [[integration#send_to|Explorer's 'Send To' menu]].+The //Moving files to Recycle bin// checkbox enables confirmation of deleting of files to recycle bin. The option has effect only when [[ui_pref_panels#common|deleting of local files to recycle bin]] is allowed or when [[ui_login_recycle_bin|remote recycle bin]] is configured.
-The //Drag&drop operations// checkbox makes [[ui_copy|transfer options dialog]] show before transfer initiated using drag&drop starts. When disabled the transfer starts immediately with [[transfer_settings|default options]].+The //Closing sessions when exiting application// checkbox enables confirmation when closing the application with some active sessions.
 +
 +The //Exiting application on operation completion// checkbox enables information message shown before application is closed after operation (like file transfer) is finished. I.e. when some [[once_done|finalizing operation]] was selected. When unchecked the application closes immediately. This also affects uploading files using [[integration#send_to|Windows File Explorer's 'Send To' menu]].
The //Opening separate shell session// checkbox controls whether opening [[shell_session|separate shell session]] requires confirmation. The //Opening separate shell session// checkbox controls whether opening [[shell_session|separate shell session]] requires confirmation.
 +
 +The //Synchronization summary// checkbox controls whether a summary of an operation is shown at the end of [[task_synchronize_full|directory synchronization]].
The //Continue on error// checkbox allows batch operations (typically file transfers) continue despite some errors. Once the operation is finished, a list of all errors occurred is shown. The //Continue on error// checkbox allows batch operations (typically file transfers) continue despite some errors. Once the operation is finished, a list of all errors occurred is shown.
-===== Notifications =====+===== [[notifications]] Notifications =====
-The //Beep when work finishes...// checkbox allows you to configure WinSCP to make sound, when operation (like file transfer), lasting more than specified amount of time, finishes.+The //Beep when work finishes...// checkbox allows you to configure WinSCP to make sound,((By default, the //Default Beep// sound is used. If you have no sound of this type configured, the option will not work. To configure the sound, go to //Control Panel > Hardware and Sound > Sound > Change system sounds//.&wincp To configure a different sound, use the [[rawconfig|raw configuration option]] ''Interface\BeepSound''.))  when operation, lasting more than specified amount of time, finishes. Operations that trigger the sound are:
 +  * Any file operation (like file transfer);
 +  * Completing [[transfer_queue|background transfer queue]];
 +  * [[task_synchronize_full|Synchronization]];
 +  * Uploading/deleting of a file while [[task_keep_up_to_date|keeping remote directory up to date]].
-The //Show balloon notification in taskbar status are// controls if balloon notification is shown on various events, such as:+The //Show balloon notification in taskbar status area// controls, if balloon notification is shown on various events, such as:
-  * Any message box is displayed or operation finishes while main window is [[ui_pref_window#miscellaneous|minimized to taskbar status area]].+  * Any message box is displayed while main window is [[ui_pref_window#miscellaneous|minimized to taskbar status area]].
 +  * Operation finishes while main window is minimized.
  * [[task_connections#switch|Inactive session]] needs user interaction.   * [[task_connections#switch|Inactive session]] needs user interaction.
 +  * [[transfer_queue|Transfer queue]] is completed or requires user interaction, while not visible.((I.e. when transfer queue list is hidden, application is minimized or different session is active.))
  * [[updates|New version is detected]].   * [[updates|New version is detected]].
 +  * Error is ignored by //Continue on error// option ([[ui_pref_environment|global]] or [[ui_keepuptodate#synchronize_options|Keep remote directory up to date-specific]]).
 +===== Further Reading =====
 +Read more about [[ui_preferences|Preferences dialog]] and its other [[ui_preferences#pages|pages]].

Last modified: by martin