Topic "Yet again on file selection"

Author Message
ks
[View user's profile]
Donor
Joined: 2008-09-18
Posts: 67
Location: Moscow
Hello.

I did read the FAQ on file selection, so I went to Preferences and I got Commander - Explorer-style selection = Mouse only. But nothing changed - I still have to hold Ctrl to select files with mouse or the selection jumps back to the only focused file. Do you mean with NC interface there is no way to select files with mouse alone?!

My version is 5.5.
Advertisements
ks
[View user's profile]
Donor
Joined: 2008-09-18
Posts: 67
Location: Moscow
Also.

If I have the ".." focused and then select 2 files (with mouse & Ctrl) and then hit Enter to upload them I just go the the parent directory. Can you change mouse selection so that it would shift focus too (to any of the selected files, no matter which)? Being able to select not focused files with keyboard is nice but when I move my mouse to a file I mean I want focus there too.

Also note that applications like NC, mc and Total Commander have a slightly different selection logic: once you (de)select the first file with mouse, as you move your mouse on, all other files are (de)selected the same way as the first one, no matter if they were selected before or not. There's no inversion logic in the apps, but WinSCP does have it. If you think about it this is more convenient than inversion cause usually when you select files you select them as a bunch, and some could be selected before, and you don't want the latter to get deselected.
ks
[View user's profile]
Donor
Joined: 2008-09-18
Posts: 67
Location: Moscow
I guess you're talking about Explorer view but I use Norton Commander view
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24991
Location: Prague, Czechia
ks wrote:
I did read the FAQ on file selection, so I went to Preferences and I got Commander - Explorer-style selection = Mouse only. But nothing changed - I still have to hold Ctrl to select files with mouse or the selection jumps back to the only focused file. Do you mean with NC interface there is no way to select files with mouse alone?!

OK, you probably mean selection by dragging the "rectangle", right? I haven't noticed it before. I have added this bug to the tracker:
https://winscp.net/tracker/show_bug.cgi?id=778

Quote:
If I have the ".." focused and then select 2 files (with mouse & Ctrl) and then hit Enter to upload them I just go the the parent directory. Can you change mouse selection so that it would shift focus too (to any of the selected files, no matter which)? Being able to select not focused files with keyboard is nice but when I move my mouse to a file I mean I want focus there too.

Will consider it.

Quote:
Also note that applications like NC, mc and Total Commander have a slightly different selection logic: once you (de)select the first file with mouse, as you move your mouse on, all other files are (de)selected the same way as the first one, no matter if they were selected before or not. There's no inversion logic in the apps, but WinSCP does have it. If you think about it this is more convenient than inversion cause usually when you select files you select them as a bunch, and some could be selected before, and you don't want the latter to get deselected.

That because fo the Ctrl key. It's standard Windows behaviour. Once selecting without Ctrl is possible, it won't do it.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
ks
[View user's profile]
Donor
Joined: 2008-09-18
Posts: 67
Location: Moscow
Quote:
selection by dragging the "rectangle"

of course!
Quote:
Will consider it.

thank you. This does not have to be the ".." item - if I have selected several files and a directory and the directory is focused and I do want to download all the files and the directory (along with all its files), then if I hit Enter (with my preferences for Enter to download selected files) I will just go down to that directory.
Quote:
That because fo the Ctrl key

Ah I see ok I'll wait for the fix for rectangle selection so Ctrl won't have to be used
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24991
Location: Prague, Czechia
I have sent you an email with link to dev version for testing. Thanks.
ks
[View user's profile]
Donor
Joined: 2008-09-18
Posts: 67
Location: Moscow
Yes, now rectangle selection works as it should.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24991
Location: Prague, Czechia
Thanks for your help.
This bug has been added to the tracker:
https://winscp.net/tracker/show_bug.cgi?id=778
wvdb1981

Guest


This bug does also exist in version 4.3.6.
Toshiro

Guest


And it wasn't fixed in 4.3.7
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24991
Location: Prague, Czechia
I have reopened the bug
https://winscp.net/tracker/show_bug.cgi?id=778
_________________
Martin Prikryl
user890104
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2012-02-29
Posts: 1
Hello,

the issue is happening here, too. The bug says "fixed", so where can I get the latest development version that include the fix? Can someone please e-mail them (or one of them) to me?

thanks!
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24991
Location: Prague, Czechia
user890104 wrote:
the issue is happening here, too. The bug says "fixed", so where can I get the latest development version that include the fix? Can someone please e-mail them (or one of them) to me?

It's fixed in 5.0.6 beta, released yesterday. The fix will also be included in upcoming 4.3.8.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License