Closing session manager

Advertisement

yereverluvinunclebert
Joined:
Posts:
39
Location:
Brighton - The Beautiful South

Closing session manager

When you have no sessions running and you close session manager it closes WinSCP entirely. This is counter-intuitive functionality. You should be able to close the session manager without closing the whole program. The session manager is just part of the program so it makes sense just to close that part of the program, that window.

Background: When you are using a master password the last thing you need is for the program to close. Each time the program closes you have to key in the master password again which is very helpful to key loggers as well as being inconvenient to the user.

When I have performed session manager activities I simply want to be able to close the session manager and return to the program.

Reply with quote

Advertisement

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
27,226
Location:
Prague, Czechia

Re: Closing session manager

This comes from times when WinSCP could run only a single session. So the application is not designed to run while there's no session opened.

Anyway, this request has been added to the tracker:
https://winscp.net/tracker/show_bug.cgi?id=857
_________________
Martin Prikryl

Reply with quote

yereverluvinunclebert
Joined:
Posts:
39
Location:
Brighton - The Beautiful South

Session Manager Closure still shuts down the whole program

This really needs fixing! Session Manager Closure still shuts down the whole program. This is daft. If (when) the internet is disconnected the session manager pops up to get me to reconnect. I choose not to do so because I know the internet is down, I close the session manager to see if there is something in the preferences that I can change to reduce the reconnect interval and the whole program shuts down. WinSCP is such a good program but massively annoying user interface issues like this still persist.

It OUGHT to be possible to simply run winSCP, configure it and do what we like WITHOUT having to connect. It is currently an FTP program that gets in the way too often. This old-style functionality is a MUST to remove as it has been this way for TOO LONG now.

Please see to it! Please make WinSCP feel like finished program, bugs like this make it seem like an unfinished school project.

Forgive my vehemence - I'm trying to make a real point here.

PS. I even tried to show the version number of the program using HELP-ABOUT and could not do that without connecting to a site. It says 5.8 beta and this functionality is mean to have been fixed in 5.8. It seems not.

Reply with quote

yereverluvinunclebert
Joined:
Posts:
39
Location:
Brighton - The Beautiful South

Option should be enabled by default

OK, I have found it. So many configuration options a new user will not find it. They would not know to look for it.

Very pleased you have implemented it.

It should be enabled by default. It should always have been present and it now acts like a grown-up program. Please have it turned on for ALL users. Power users who are used to the program operating as it did before can use the configuration options to switch it back.

Thanks for the quick response. I am a real fan of WinSCP and I push it wherever I can.

Reply with quote

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
27,226
Location:
Prague, Czechia

Re: Option should be enabled by default

I'll consider it. Thanks for your feedback.

Reply with quote

craig
Joined:
Posts:
1
Location:
Canada

Re: Option should be enabled by default

martin wrote:

I'll consider it. Thanks for your feedback.

Looks like this is working except when first opening the application and cancelling the Site Manager without first connecting to a remote site (then the application closes, though it shouldn't).

BTW, great job on this software! Thank you for your work.

Reply with quote

Peada766
Guest

Sorry if this has been suggested before.

Wouldnt it be nice if, after a TT session, you were told what position in the leaderboard you made?

Bob

Reply with quote

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
27,226
Location:
Prague, Czechia

Peada766 wrote:

Sorry if this has been suggested before.

Wouldnt it be nice if, after a TT session, you were told what position in the leaderboard you made?
Sorry, I do not understand what you mean. Please, try again.

Reply with quote

SyKoTiK
Guest

Re: Option should be enabled by default

craig wrote:

martin wrote:

I'll consider it. Thanks for your feedback.

Looks like this is working except when first opening the application and cancelling the Site Manager without first connecting to a remote site (then the application closes, though it shouldn't).

BTW, great job on this software! Thank you for your work.


I notice that it still closed if you don't connect to anything first - didn't check to see if it occurred if you DO connect to something and then close that last/only session.

Dev, you should address this, since it doesn't seem like a by-design feature.

Reply with quote

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
27,226
Location:
Prague, Czechia

Re: Option should be enabled by default

SyKoTiK wrote:

I notice that it still closed if you don't connect to anything first - didn't check to see if it occurred if you DO connect to something and then close that last/only session.

Dev, you should address this, since it doesn't seem like a by-design feature.
This issue has been added to the tracker:
https://winscp.net/tracker/show_bug.cgi?id=1552

Reply with quote

Advertisement

You can post new topics in this forum