WinSCP 5.x | turn off feature that 'remembers' last folder

Advertisement

cooch17
Joined:
Posts:
11
Location:
NY

WinSCP 5.x | turn off feature that 'remembers' last folder

With the recent upgrade from 4.x to 5.x, one aspect of the WinSCP behaviour has changed that I'd like to 'change back'. Namely, when I now try to connect to a saved session/profile, WinSCP takes me to the last subdirectory was in that last time I connected to that site. I don't want tit to do this.

For example, suppose I have the following directory structure:

A - B
C
D - E
F
G

I want to *always* connect to the root directory (A). This is what happened with WinSCP 4.x. With 5.x, it seems to store information on what directory I was in on my last connection, and takes me there on the next connection. So, suppose I connect, navigate to subdirectory E, do a file transfer, then log out. Next time I connect, WinSCP takes me right back to subdirectory E. I don't want that - I want it to always keep me at root level directory A on any new connection.

Any way I can change WinSCP to do this?

Thanks!

Reply with quote

Advertisement

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
28,671
Location:
Prague, Czechia

Re: indeed...

cooch17 wrote:

Thanks - I did just discover that. It either wasn't a feature in 4.x, or wasn't turned on by default.
The option is there since WinSCP 2.0, but is was off by default.
_________________
Martin Prikryl

Reply with quote

iZueL
Joined:
Posts:
1

Changing now from an old WinSCP version, all the different profiles are with this option activated.... when in the old version was deactivated :(

Reply with quote

Advertisement

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
28,671
Location:
Prague, Czechia

iZueL wrote:

Changing now from an old WinSCP version, all the different profiles are with this option activated.... when in the old version was deactivated :(
Yes that's true. Unfortunately, there's no way atm to modify an option for all sessions at once. You have to disable it one-by-one or edit the configuration manually (in registry or INI file, set UpdateDirectories=0).
_________________
Martin Prikryl

Reply with quote

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
28,671
Location:
Prague, Czechia

martin wrote:

iZueL wrote:

Changing now from an old WinSCP version, all the different profiles are with this option activated.... when in the old version was deactivated :(
Yes that's true. Unfortunately, there's no way atm to modify an option for all sessions at once. You have to disable it one-by-one or edit the configuration manually (in registry or INI file, set UpdateDirectories=0).
This request has been added to the tracker:
https://winscp.net/tracker/1236

Reply with quote

Advertisement

You can post new topics in this forum