Topic "Beginner needs help making simple script to copy via SFTP"

danbrown1888
[View user's profile]

Hello scripting experts! I'm new to scripting and found this excellent tool today. I've been asked to automate the copying of two files from an SFTP site. I read through the documentation but the syntax is throwing me off a bit. Here is what I have so far:

winscp.com /command "option batch abort" "option confirm off" "open securesite.net" "get examplefile.txt" "exit"

Close but not quite. I also need to pass credentials to authenticate then I need to make sure the files are copied to a specific directory. Could anyone fill in the blanks for me?
Advertisements
danbrown1888
[View user's profile]

Figured it out, here is what I did:

.bat file set as scheduled task to call powershell.exe c:\scripts\script.ps1

try
{
# Load WinSCP .NET assembly
[Reflection.Assembly]::LoadFrom("C:\Program Files (x86)\WinSCP\WinSCP.dll") | Out-Null

# Setup session options
$sessionOptions = New-Object WinSCP.SessionOptions
$sessionOptions.Protocol = [WinSCP.Protocol]::Sftp
$sessionOptions.HostName = "ADDRESS.net"
$sessionOptions.UserName = "USERNAME"
$sessionOptions.Password = "PASSWORD"
$sessionOptions.SshHostKeyFingerprint = "ssh-rsa 1024 XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX etc"

$session = New-Object WinSCP.Session

try
{
# Connect
$session.Open($sessionOptions)

$localPath = "C:\PATH"
$remotePath = "/Inbox/"
$file = "FILE.bin"

# Format timestamp
$stamp = $(Get-Date -f "yyyyMMddHHmmss")

# Download the file and throw on any error
$session.GetFiles(
($remotePath + $file),
($localPath + $stamp + "." + $file)).Check()
}
finally
{
# Disconnect, clean up
$session.Dispose()
}

exit 0
}
catch [Exception]
{
Write-Host $_.Exception.Message
exit 1
}
umcans
[View user's profile]