Turning WinSCP into a full web dev workstation?

Advertisement

Lakitu7
Guest

Turning WinSCP into a full web dev workstation?

Coming from Notepad++ with FTP, which has huge security issues I discovered WinSCP. However, I'm having trouble setting up a "file session", or something similar:

Basically I want to add files from the server to a local list, and save the list as "Project 1". At any point later, I can open this "Project 1" file and it will open all contained files from the remote as local copies. When I save any file, the locale file is transferred to the server through SFTP.

If the way to do this is through Synchronizing, I do not want to synchronize the entire server because that's 2GB of files I don't need locally.

I tried around with the following:

- Using Notepad++, I can save local files to a session. However, whenever I re-open WinSCP, the file I had saved are no longer transferrable because their locations have changed due to the random seed generator. WinSCP generates a new folder every session. I can't find a way to disable this.

- Then I found the "Synchronize" option, thought it was what I was looking for, until I saw that was deleting ALL files from my server, requiring an immediate backup. If I hadn't had that backup, I'd be screwed right now. This is terrible, guys. At least provide a warning before you go deleting remote files..

- "Keep Remote Directory up to Date" - I haven't even gotten the courage to try and see what this does due to the spook given by the previous "synchronize option."


Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks.

Reply with quote

Advertisement

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
27,253
Location:
Prague, Czechia

Re: Turning WinSCP into a full web dev workstation?

Lakitu7 wrote:

- Using Notepad++, I can save local files to a session. However, whenever I re-open WinSCP, the file I had saved are no longer transferrable because their locations have changed due to the random seed generator. WinSCP generates a new folder every session. I can't find a way to disable this.
This request is tracked here:
https://winscp.net/tracker/show_bug.cgi?id=410

- Then I found the "Synchronize" option, thought it was what I was looking for, until I saw that was deleting ALL files from my server, requiring an immediate backup. If I hadn't had that backup, I'd be screwed right now. This is terrible, guys. At least provide a warning before you go deleting remote files..
Did you enable Delete files option (as it is off by default)?
Did you disable Preview changes option (as it is on by default)?

Reply with quote

Advertisement

You can post new topics in this forum