[BUG][5.2.2] Workspace always saved on exit

Advertisement

braykov
Joined:
Posts:
91

[BUG][5.2.2] Workspace always saved on exit

Open several sessions.
Save workspace; do not check the option "Enable automatic saving of this workspace"
Close WinSCP
Open WinSCP with the new workspace
Open one or more sessions
Close WinSCP
Open WinSCP with the new workspace
Result: the new workspace has included the additionally opened sessions.

Reply with quote

Advertisement

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
27,253
Location:
Prague, Czechia

Re: [BUG][5.2.2] Workspace always saved on exit

I guess, you have enabled saving of this workspace before.

Note that the checkbox reads Enable automatic saving of this workspace, not Automatically save this workspace. Meaning it does enable saving the workspace, if you check it. But it does not disable saving it, when you keep it unchecked, when it is already enabled.
_________________
Martin Prikryl

Reply with quote

braykov
Joined:
Posts:
91

But how is that logical? It sounds very confusing to me. :roll:
Anyway, I played a bit with workspaces and some strange things happen (incl. Invalid access to memory) - but of course this is a beta.
So I give up on this issue for now.

However, I do have some suggestions for you to consider:
- workspaces should be editable/reconfigurable also after they are created;
- workspace options should include:
- Auto-load - meaning only one of all saved workspaces can be marked as default. So upon opening of WinSCP, the default workspace is opened. But do not make a workspace default even if there is only one created. If there are no defaults, upon opening WinSCP to open the login window as usual. Keep this option un-checked by default.
- Auto-save - meaning when this workspace is loaded/opened, WinSCP will save it when it closes. So sessions would be added or removed from this workspace automatically. Keep this option un-checked by default.

I secretly hope I can get my hands on version 5.2.3 beta :wink:

Reply with quote

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
27,253
Location:
Prague, Czechia

braykov wrote:

But how is that logical? It sounds very confusing to me.
I do not find it confusing. But ok, I'll think about it.

braykov wrote:

Anyway, I played a bit with workspaces and some strange things happen (incl. Invalid access to memory) - but of course this is a beta.
I have sent you an email with debug build to trace this problem.

- Auto-load - meaning only one of all saved workspaces can be marked as default. So upon opening of WinSCP, the default workspace is opened. But do not make a workspace default even if there is only one created. If there are no defaults, upon opening WinSCP to open the login window as usual. Keep this option un-checked by default.
WinSCP login dialog starts with the last workspace selected. So you are always just one click away from opening your last workspace. But this approach allows you to pick any other workspace if you wish.

- Auto-save - meaning when this workspace is loaded/opened, WinSCP will save it when it closes. So sessions would be added or removed from this workspace automatically. Keep this option un-checked by default.
https://winscp.net/tracker/show_bug.cgi?id=1029
_________________
Martin Prikryl

Reply with quote

braykov
Joined:
Posts:
91

martin wrote:


WinSCP login dialog starts with the last workspace selected. So you are always just one click away from opening your last workspace. But this approach allows you to pick any other workspace if you wish.
I like your approach :)
Thanks for the beta. I will report further issues when I find them but in new posts as this one is for 5.2.2.

Note:
just now I noticed. Do this one: open WinSCP, select workspace and login.
Now go to a dark-grey tab that is not connected. Right-click and select Disconnect. (no debug log needed)
Enjoy :-)

Reply with quote

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
27,253
Location:
Prague, Czechia

braykov wrote:

just now I noticed. Do this one: open WinSCP, select workspace and login.
Now go to a dark-grey tab that is not connected. Right-click and select Disconnect. (no debug log needed)
Enjoy :-)
When you right click gray tab, it should connect the session, instead of showing a popup menu. And it indeed does for me. So I need the debug log :) Thanks.

Reply with quote

Advertisement

You can post new topics in this forum