Topic "stop all confirmations?"

Author Message
boody

Guest


Can I stop all confirmations? I don't want to have to OK drag and drops nor 'keep remote dir up to date' updates. I'd just like to have it operate silently in the background updating the dir without me having to confirm everytime I save a file (triggering a transfer).
Advertisements
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 25034
Location: Prague, Czechia
boody wrote:
Can I stop all confirmations? I don't want to have to OK drag and drops

See "Drag & drop operations" in Confirmations section of Preferences window. Unfortunatelly, there is bug, making WinSCP to ignore option sometime. It will be fixed in the next release.
Quote:
... nor 'keep remote dir up to date' updates.

What confirmations do you mean here?
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Guest




prikryl wrote:
boody wrote:
Can I stop all confirmations? I don't want to have to OK drag and drops

See "Drag & drop operations" in Confirmations section of Preferences window. Unfortunatelly, there is bug, making WinSCP to ignore option sometime. It will be fixed in the next release.

Quote:
... nor 'keep remote dir up to date' updates.

What confirmations do you mean here?


Drag & drop (remote -> local) gives no prompt, but the reverse always prompts.

As for the other, here's the scenario:
Using feature "Keep remote directory up to date" with all options unchecked EXCEPT 'existing files only' and (more importantly) 'no confirmations', whenever I change as a local file in the working directory which (correctly) triggers a transfer to remote, the confirm window pops up to 'Yes' 'No' the transfer. What more info do you need?
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 25034
Location: Prague, Czechia
Quote:
Drag & drop (remote -> local) gives no prompt, but the reverse always prompts.

This is probably the bug I've mentioned. It will be fixed in the next release.

Quote:
As for the other, here's the scenario:
Using feature "Keep remote directory up to date" with all options unchecked EXCEPT 'existing files only' and (more importantly) 'no confirmations', whenever I change as a local file in the working directory which (correctly) triggers a transfer to remote, the confirm window pops up to 'Yes' 'No' the transfer. What more info do you need?

I need the message text. I have no idea what yes/no message you refere to. Maybe you can post a log file.
_________________
Martin Prikryl

Last edited by martin on 2004-10-04; edited 1 time in total
Guest




prikryl wrote:
Quote:
Drag & drop (remote -> local) gives no prompt, but the reverse always prompts.

This is probably the bug I've mentioned. It will be fixed in the next release.

Quote:
As for the other, here's the scenario:
Using feature "Keep remote directory up to date" with all options unchecked EXCEPT 'existing files only' and (more importantly) 'no confirmations', whenever I change as a local file in the working directory which (correctly) triggers a transfer to remote, the confirm window pops up to 'Yes' 'No' the transfer. What more info do you need?

I need the message text. I have no idea what yes/no message you refere to. Maybe you can post a log file.


Same scenario above - I save a file in the dir that's being kept up to date, upon saving the file (which changes it's date and triggers a transfer to remote dir) a window pops up:
Title: Confirm
Contents:
1 new or changed file(s) in local directory 'c:\Documents and ...'(shortened) were found. Ther will be uploaded to remote directory '/blah...'. Continue?
in an inset window with disabled scroll bars is the full path to the local changed file
at the bottom of the window are 3 buttons:
[Yes] [No] [<< Less]

Does that explain it?
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 25034
Location: Prague, Czechia
I understand finally Smile That's definitely bug. You have probably used the "synchronize" function in past. It has option "preview changes", you probably turned it on and saved the preference. While it should not, the preference has effect on "keep up to date" function as well. I'll fix it in the next release.

As workaround, turn off the option for synchronize function.

Thanks for your patience Smile
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Guest




prikryl wrote:
I understand finally Smile That's definitely bug. You have probably used the "synchronize" function in past. It has option "preview changes", you probably turned it on and saved the preference. While it should not, the preference has effect on "keep up to date" function as well. I'll fix it in the next release.

As workaround, turn off the option for synchronize function.

Thanks for your patience Smile


Yes, I did tinker with that once, and yes now that I've turned off preview.....works like a charm! Thanks so much!
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License