Topic "Anyway to 'wash' groups within WinSCP"

Author Message
TAZ427
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2016-10-14
Posts: 2
Location: california
I'm trying to access a directory that I have group permissions for, but the group isn't in my initial 16 groups (Unix limitation Sad and I have group access to > 30 groups and yes, I need access to every one of the groups for the different projects I work on.) I always have to 'wash' my groups to get down to the group in the 1st 16 listed to access the directory when in Unix. And I assume that's why I can't access it within WinSCP.

I've looked through the documentation and I'm not seeing a way to 'wash' groups are select which groups to use for access purposes in WinSCP.

FWIW, I'm using SCP protocol.

Any help here would be appreciated.
Advertisements
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24991
Location: Prague, Czechia
Sorry, I do not understand what you mean by "wash".

What error do you get, when you try to access the directory?
Guest




martin wrote:
Sorry, I do not understand what you mean by "wash".

What error do you get, when you try to access the directory?


'wash' is a Unix command to remove 'groups' and restart the session. It's used when you have > 16 groups and you have to drop some groups because Unix only looks at the first 16 groups. So for example if I had groups agroup, bgroup, ... pgroup, qgroup the agroup - pgroup are in the first 16 groups but qgroup would be outside of this. If I needed to access a directory with qgroup group permissions I would need to wash at least one of the other groups out so qgroup would be within the initial 16 groups.

Currently I'm in that situation where I'm wanting to access a directory with WinSCP where the group access isn't by default in my initial 16groups. And so I'd need to 'wash' my groups, but I don't see anyway to achieve this with WinSCP.

When changing directories I get a 'Host is not communicating for more than 15 seconds Still waiting...' pop-up with a Abort countdown.

After trying this on many directories where I have group access in the initial 16 and it never fails, but fails every time I attempt to access a directory that is not in my initial 16 groups.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24991
Location: Prague, Czechia
OK, did you try to run the wash from Console window?
https://winscp.net/eng/docs/ui_console
TAZ427
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2016-10-14
Posts: 2
Location: california
Apparently since 'wash' restarts the terminal/console session it kills the connection to WinSCP and I have to reconnect which starts over again with all groups.
WinSCP_Capture.JPG (117.13 KB) [Download]

Description: (none)

martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24991
Location: Prague, Czechia
Doesn't it rather star a new child shell session?

In what case, you could use it as a Shell is session settings:
https://winscp.net/eng/docs/ui_login_scp
Guest




Quote:
Doesn't it rather star a new child shell session?

In what case, you could use it as a Shell is session settings:
https://winscp.net/eng/docs/ui_login_scp


No it doesn't start a new child shell session. It immediately disconnects the session as the Screen Cap I attached indicates.

I attempted to use the shell session w/ 'wash' command and didn't have any success there either.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24991
Location: Prague, Czechia
Anonymous wrote:
No it doesn't start a new child shell session. It immediately disconnects the session as the Screen Cap I attached indicates.

I was referring to the wash command in general, not to WinSCP behavior.
If you run the wash and then exit, does the exit close a session? Or does it only exit the wash?
Guest




martin wrote:
Anonymous wrote:
No it doesn't start a new child shell session. It immediately disconnects the session as the Screen Cap I attached indicates.

I was referring to the wash command in general, not to WinSCP behavior.
If you run the wash and then exit, does the exit close a session? Or does it only exit the wash?


If I'm in my own Unix environment, and I preform wash and then exit, it only appears to exit wash. I'm in the same terminal as I was before performing wash and I have my full history.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24991
Location: Prague, Czechia
That's what I've meant by the "child shell session".
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License