Images corrupted on server - after FTP - WINSCP

Advertisement

julianb

Images corrupted on server - after FTP - WINSCP

I have been using WinSCP for 2 months and I really like it. But I'm having to stop using it because of corrupted images. Whenever I transfer images (jpg, gif, png) one of them gets corrupted on the server. It looks glitchy and/or zig zaggy. I have tried all sorts of workarounds but the only way I can avoid this problem is to transfer images using a different FTP software package (which is frustrating to say the least).

I did a web search and found "WINSCP is Corrupting Images on Transfer" on the WinSCP Forum. That thread was started 4 years ago in August 2014. So it looks like it's an unresolved bug. That's why I've started a new thread - to kickstart a solution.

Advertisement

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar

Re: Images corrupted on server - after FTP - WINSCP

Thanks for your report.
I have sent you an email with a debug version of WinSCP to the address you have used to register on this forum.

julianb

Here is an example of what happens to images when I use WinSCP to transfer them to a website.

I have attached the WinSCP logo "before and after" transfering it to my website.

Here's what I did:
1. I downloaded the WinSCP logo.png image to my Windows download folder.
2. I then copied and pasted logo.png to the left hand pane of WinSCP.
3. I then transferred logo.png to my website by dragging it from the WinSCP left hand pane to the right hand pane.

What went wrong in such a simple process?

Description: Here is the WinSCP logo after transfer.

logo2.png

Description: Here is the WinSCP logo before transfer.

logo.png

julianb

Update: the corrupted images are only corrupted on the bottom half. The corruption starts exactly half way vertical. Just like the example above of the WinSCP logo.

Advertisement

julianb

martin wrote:

You are obviously using an text/ascii transfer to transfer the images.