Deleting unwanted files when synchronizing

Advertisement

Helvetica
Donor
Joined:
Posts:
4
Location:
Switzerland

Deleting unwanted files when synchronizing

Hi everyone,
I LOVE the synchronize feature of WinSCP, it saves me hours and hours of work when I am uploading to my huge academic website (nearly half a million files).
Sometimes before I upload new files to a section, I need to rename an image, say from RIC_123.jpg to RIC_124 (or I make a new RIC_124.jpg and delete the old RIC_123.jpg from my PC). When WinSCP shows me the list of changed or different files before I confirm the upload, files which are on the server but not on my PC are marked in red and have an "X".
Now my question is, if I tick the boxes of those files on the left, does WinSCP then delete those unwanted files for me at the same time ? Or are they transferred to my PC ?

Reply with quote

Advertisement

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
31,598
Location:
Prague, Czechia

Re: Deleting unwanted files when synchronizing

Helvetica wrote:

Now my question is, if I tick the boxes of those files on the left, does WinSCP then delete those unwanted files for me at the same time ?
Yes.
See https://winscp.net/eng/docs/ui_synchronize_checklist#information_displayed

Though even better is to tell WinSCP that the new and the file are actually the same and the difference can be resolved by a rename (to save the upload):
https://winscp.net/eng/docs/ui_synchronize_checklist#renames

Reply with quote

Helvetica
Donor
Joined:
Posts:
4
Location:
Switzerland

Re: Deleting unwanted files when synchronizing

Ah thankyou Martin.
Re the renaming. My website is a huge database of ancient coins. So sometimes when I rename an image/thumbnail/txt file, to correct its reference, I sometimes see if I can find a better example, so the image is not always the same one.
But I'll read the info you cited.
Thanks again.

martin wrote:

Helvetica wrote:

Now my question is, if I tick the boxes of those files on the left, does WinSCP then delete those unwanted files for me at the same time ?
Yes.
See https://winscp.net/eng/docs/ui_synchronize_checklist#information_displayed

Though even better is to tell WinSCP that the new and the file are actually the same and the difference can be resolved by a rename (to save the upload):
https://winscp.net/eng/docs/ui_synchronize_checklist#renames

Reply with quote

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
31,598
Location:
Prague, Czechia

Re: Deleting unwanted files when synchronizing

martin wrote:

Helvetica wrote:

Now my question is, if I tick the boxes of those files on the left, does WinSCP then delete those unwanted files for me at the same time ?
Yes.
See https://winscp.net/eng/docs/ui_synchronize_checklist#information_displayed

Though even better is to tell WinSCP that the new and the file are actually the same and the difference can be resolved by a rename (to save the upload):
https://winscp.net/eng/docs/ui_synchronize_checklist#renames
The next version will show hints for the icons:
https://winscp.net/tracker/1786

Reply with quote

Advertisement

You can post new topics in this forum