Selecting Remote Directory Clears Local Directory Field

Advertisement

Farington
Joined:
Posts:
3

Selecting Remote Directory Clears Local Directory Field

WinSCP 5.21.5.

When I select a different remote directory from the Site Location Profiles it clears the local directory field which if accepting results in the local directory switching to the C drive.

The attached demonstrates what happens.

bookmark1.png - open bookmarks.
bookmark2.png - current directories are displayed.
bookmark3.png - A remote directory is selected - in this example /usr/shared - from the Site Location Profiles which results in the Local directory field being cleared.

Description: Local directory cleared

bookmark3.png

Description: Current directories

bookmark2.png

Description: Open bookmarks

bookmark1.png

Reply with quote

Advertisement

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
38,408
Location:
Prague, Czechia

Re: Selecting Remote Directory Clears Local Directory Field

Well, a location profile is a pair of local and remote directory. If your location profile has local directory empty, then selecting the profile will indeed clear the local directory box.
Are you really using the location profiles (the pairs)? Maybe a simple bookmark mode would suit you better:
https://winscp.net/eng/docs/task_navigate#bookmarks

Reply with quote

Farington
Joined:
Posts:
3

Thanks Martin, that is indeed the problem as I actually wanted the bookmarks mode only not location profiles.

I have now ensured it defaults to bookmarks mode and it now works perfectly.

Thanks again.

Reply with quote

Advertisement

You can post new topics in this forum