Uploading Files Created or Changed Since the Last Upload

Advertisement

aksarben

I see WinSCP has an option to transfer files created/changed since a specified date/time, or length of time.

Can you add the ability for WinSCP to remember the last upload of files with a specified location/mask to a server, then transfer all files with the same location/mask created or changed since that last upload?

Advertisement

aksarben

I looked at the scripts at https://winscp.net/eng/docs/faq_script_modified_files#last_timestamp. I’m not a PowerShell expert, but unless I’m mistaken, they download server files changed since the last transfer. But we need the opposite action: We have to upload new/changed files from the local machine to the Web server.

Am I missing something?

Just noticed another issue: I need to transfer by SFTP, and I don’t see where the script is specifying the protocol. How do I set the protocol?

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar

Re: Uploading Files Created or Changed Since the Last Upload

I know that you want to "upload". But the principle is still the same.

The code does not set protocol anywhere, as it shows only the transfer part of the code. There are also different pieces of codes for different approaches to the problem. You didn't tell us what approach did you decide to take.

If you plan to use the PowerShell, see:
https://winscp.net/eng/docs/library_powershell#example

aksarben

Proposed Upload Design

My current plan is to call WinSCP from a PowerShell script, if possible. My design would be to first build set of files to upload. The files will usually be in many different folders. On a typical day, the set would contain 50–100 files. On very rare occasions, it could contain over 15,000 files (e.g., when I’m initializing the Web site on a new server). Questions: