putting back/uploading the prob. it wont let a user overwrite an existing copy of that file unless the user is the owner already. and user cant change the owner of each file on server either (doesnt allow and too many files for that anyway).
all users are in one group on the linux box, all the files which are updated are permission 775, the dir is also, and the dir has had sgid done to the group all users belong to.
users can write new files to the dir fine, can edit files from the dir fine, etc.
but if a user does write a new file, its permission is 644 by default. is that the problem? the default causes the remote user to try and change the permission setting?