Topic "Strange!!! (Is it the OVERWRITE????)"

Author Message
Jen

Guest


Hi,

Here's what I'm doing right now: either I'm simply reporting this for your review as it may be a glitch/bug, or I'm needing your input to avoid this (and if the latter is the case, kindly advise WHY IT HAPPENED).

I've been using WinSCP for a really long time. Weirdly, this series of events occurred (BUT NOT all the time!!!):
1. I started a project and transferred it (V.1) to the server.
2. Since I was not available for the modifications, "Jane" did them, hence, V.2.
3. And then the client wanted some other changes, so Jane came up with V.3.
(Note that Jane just RCP's the files, unlike me, who uses WinSCP for file transfer.)
4. When I got back, there was a request for MORE changes. So knowing that changes were made while I was gone, I used WinSCP to copy V.3 from the server to my local machine/PC.
5. I made the changes and came up with V.4, copied (chose YES when prompted to OVERWRITE the existing V.3,since they have the SAME filename despite the new version number -- FYI only, this has always been the case with our projects; version numbers are only noted in the scripts not the filenames.) it to the server and loaded it. Then Jane noticed that the changes she made for V.3 were no longer there!!! THE STRANGEST THING ABOUT IT WAS THE CHANGES SHE MADE FOR V.2 WAS THERE INCLUDING THOSE FOR V.4! BUT NOT THOSE FOR V.3!!!

How could that happen?! The project was live after each version was loaded, so imagine the dilemma it caused us! Note that I COULD NOT have loaded the wrong file as I did NOT even have a copy of V.2 and V.3 until I got back to work! -- In which case, only V.3 then was "visible". (Remember that V.3 already overwrote V.2.)

Note that it happened more than once. We had to trace recent events and realized that the same was the case for the other projects!!! This time, the one who made the changes was using F-Secure. So basically, everyone had come to the conclusion that the cause was coming from my end -- even I had to agree! So "John" (the one who uses F-Secure) informed me that whenever he updates a file, he NEVER OVERWRITES; instead, he deletes the existing file in the server and copies the new version/file, as if it were for the first time it's being loaded due to permissions errors he encounters if he does otherwise! Note that I did not get any PERMISSIONS ERROR at all!

So now, it's what I've been doing. Deleting existing file then copying a whole new file, INSTEAD OF OVERWRITING!

I need your input ASAP as this case has been bothering me! Is our "resolution" (about NOT using overwrite anymore) the answer or are we expecting the same situation in the future; worse, soon? Please look into this matter because if this really does happen, I may need to quit using WinSCP (which I've gotten so used to) so as not to risk my projects.

Kindly advise.


Thanks,
Duday
Advertisements
Guest




Did Jane really copy up v3 successfully? Are you sure she didn't copy up v2 then the v3 updates -- for whatever reason -- never actually made it to the server?

Is the server's filesystem case sensitive? Are you changing the case when you up/download files?

What permissions errors does John encounter? Is the destination server unix/linux, windows, something else? Assuming *nix, what is the umask of you, Jane, and John on the server? What are the permissions on the directory where you're dumping these files? Does the log on the server side have anything useful to say?

If you replicate the exact same conditions with you using a different client, is the behavior the same, or different (and if so, how)?
Guest




Hi "Guest",

Appreciate your reply. Yes, she MOST DEFINITELY copied v.3. In fact, the client tested it and was the one who noticed that v.4 did not have v.3's changes.

And yes, the filesystem is case sensitive but that isn't a problem with us at all.
Hmmm.. looks like you have more questions for me than answers. Anyway, to put it simply, replicating what occurred would be very difficult (and improbable) as IT DOES NOT HAPPEN ALL THE TIME, or at least, that's what we know until it was realized just last week.

Plus, the projects were in different servers with different setups (eprmissions, etc.). One has Red Hat; the other, Unix.

Please don't get me wrong but somehow I get this feeling that your questions may lead us farther away from the answer. Any other helpful inputs, pelase?


Anonymous wrote:
Did Jane really copy up v3 successfully? Are you sure she didn't copy up v2 then the v3 updates -- for whatever reason -- never actually made it to the server?

Is the server's filesystem case sensitive? Are you changing the case when you up/download files?

What permissions errors does John encounter? Is the destination server unix/linux, windows, something else? Assuming *nix, what is the umask of you, Jane, and John on the server? What are the permissions on the directory where you're dumping these files? Does the log on the server side have anything useful to say?

If you replicate the exact same conditions with you using a different client, is the behavior the same, or different (and if so, how)?
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 25034
Location: Prague, Czechia
Well, I have no explanation of your problems. WinSCP has no cache for file contents, hence it simply cannot cause your troubles.

Answers to guest's question may give some hints.

Note that in some cases WinSCP may actually do "delete then create new", when you choose to overwrite. That's why you may not get the permissions errors.
Jen

Guest


Hi Mr. Admin,

Hmmm... that's sad, because it did happen and we had to find out the hard way. Your input (esp. about cache) is good to know, THANKS A BUNCH!

Are you basically saying that this could not happen? Or that this may, but is 1 of those strange unexplainable things?

Thanks,
Duday

prikryl wrote:
Well, I have no explanation of your problems. WinSCP has no cache for file contents, hence it simply cannot cause your troubles.

Answers to guest's question may give some hints.

Note that in some cases WinSCP may actually do "delete then create new", when you choose to overwrite. That's why you may not get the permissions errors.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 25034
Location: Prague, Czechia
Jen wrote:
Are you basically saying that this could not happen?

Yes.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License