Disable remote edit

Advertisement

bikegriffith
Guest

Disable remote edit

The remote edit with auto-background transfer, while handy at times, can be super dangerous. I've accidentally edited log files while viewing them multiple times, and then had them auto-upload to my dismay. Similarly with Excel spreadsheets.

Can this be entirely turned off?

Reply with quote

Advertisement

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
29,300
Location:
Prague, Czechia

Re: Disable remote edit

So what do you want to turn off? Remote editing? Or just the option to upload the changes back (i.e. turn editor to viewer)?
_________________
Martin Prikryl

Reply with quote

bikegriffith
Joined:
Posts:
1
Location:
Cuyahoga Falls, OH

Re: Disable remote edit

martin wrote:

So what do you want to turn off? Remote editing? Or just the option to upload the changes back (i.e. turn editor to viewer)?

I'd just like to turn off the option to upload the changes back.

I don't mind viewing/editing files locally, but if I want to upload the changes back, I'll do so myself. I don't want to accidentally hit save locally (or worse have the program do it without my knowledge like Excel) and have the remote file affected.

Reply with quote

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
29,300
Location:
Prague, Czechia

Re: Disable remote edit

This issue has been added to tracker.
_________________
Martin Prikryl

Reply with quote

Advertisement

You can post new topics in this forum