Topic "network error: "software caused connection abort" persists"

Author Message
drstalint63
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2008-10-06
Posts: 6
hi...i m using winscp to connect to iphone via USB cable thru iphone tunnel...
it worked fine for a while on my laptop(vista ultimate).....
but after a day or so when i logon using the ip no 127.0.0.1 it returns a network eror "software caused connection abort"....
but it works fine when i enter ip address for wifi 192.168.2.---
i have searched many forums abt this but all i found were errors that occured after logging in and running winscp for a while but not at the login itself...
some forums suggested to turn off the firewall, deactivate antivirus, uninstallantivirus,enabling and disabling keepalives and so on...
but nothing works please help me on this......
i m using winscp version 4.1.7 and the latest iphone tunnel
Advertisements
drstalint63
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2008-10-06
Posts: 6
i found the answer myself for that..
when i tried to connect iphone to i tunes it returned itunes cannot connect because it received an invalid response from the device.....
so i deleted all files related to apple in c/users/application data/....
and it worked perfectly fine later...
i cud even connect to winscp using iphone tunnel
iPhoneUser Mac/Win/Parall

Guest


Hi

another reason for the connection error you are describing may be that the SHH function is turned OFF in Boss Prefs (might be useful to save battery). Just start Boss Prefs and turn toggle back ON. Then the iTunnel Suite 2.7 with WinSCP should work fine.

I am using a Mac with a Windows XP emulation (Parallels) with the iTunnel Suite to connect because it is the best solution I know. Anyone with a solution to connect an apple computer as EASILY as with the iTunnel Suite to the iPhone via USB (not Wifi)?
Rolling Eyes
zzyzx

Guest


Hey I've had the same problem. I recently had to restore my iphone to factory settings and now I rejailbroke it and am trying to ssh into my iphone again. However, this time when i try to use iphone tunnel suite, whenever i try to login, it gives me this error "Network error: Software caused abort". Its killing me!

Things to know:
1. Yes my USB is connected with the computer
2. I installed OpenSSH on Cydia and made sure it was on
3. my host name is "127.0.0.1", user name is "root", password is "alpine"
4. my iphone is not syncing when i try to ssh

PLEASE HELP!!
Guest




Just to clarify for other people, i am using ITS2.7, winxp, itunes 8.2 and facing this problem. After searching for whole day, finally get this solution work.

To make it clear,

copy the "Lockdown Folder" from

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Apple\

and

paste into

C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Apple Computer\

username is the name you use to login.

It will function
drstalint63
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2008-10-06
Posts: 6
yeah, i did the same yesterday, and it works for itunnel 2.7
and good to see this post still living.....
Guest




THANK YOU for the Lockdown solution. It worked for me.
Jiggins

Guest


Anonymous wrote:
Just to clarify for other people, i am using ITS2.7, winxp, itunes 8.2 and facing this problem. After searching for whole day, finally get this solution work.

To make it clear,

copy the "Lockdown Folder" from

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Apple\

and

paste into

C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Apple Computer\

username is the name you use to login.

It will function





Thank You So Much!!!!!! Was rackin' my brain trying to figure this out!!
DjShui

Guest


Wonderful! Worked great on iPhone 3g running 3.0 FW
iphone user

Guest


thank you very much for the "lockdown folder" solution

the problem has been killing me for weeks and your solution just worked beautifully!
dav

Guest


Brilliant ! Smile
Thank you sooooooooooo much for the Lockdown solution
I had to turn iTunes on and off again right after copying it Wink
Guest




Hey i have a quick question how would you get this to work on windows vista because they replaced the C:\Documents and Settings\username\ folder and i dont know how to fix the WINSCP problem since i have vista
Guest

Guest


Anonymous wrote:
Just to clarify for other people, i am using ITS2.7, winxp, itunes 8.2 and facing this problem. After searching for whole day, finally get this solution work.

To make it clear,

copy the "Lockdown Folder" from

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Apple\

and

paste into

C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Apple Computer\

username is the name you use to login.

It will function


Thank you very much this fixed my problem Very Happy Mr. Green
Guest




Anonymous wrote:
Just to clarify for other people, i am using ITS2.7, winxp, itunes 8.2 and facing this problem. After searching for whole day, finally get this solution work.

To make it clear,

copy the "Lockdown Folder" from

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Apple\

and

paste into

C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Apple Computer\

username is the name you use to login.

It will function



HEY THAT WORKDED FOR ME THANKS SOOOO MUCH
Ray

Guest


Thank you for the hint!
TCRakt

Guest


Oh My God ! It Works !!!
Andy Mars

Guest


Same problem here, how do you fix it on Vista? I used to have a lockdown folder on XP, but it doesn't seem to exist in Vista.
Anonomus

Guest


i had that folder too but lost it how do i get it back or can i even get it back
Guest

Guest


Anonymous wrote:
Just to clarify for other people, i am using ITS2.7, winxp, itunes 8.2 and facing this problem. After searching for whole day, finally get this solution work.

To make it clear,

copy the "Lockdown Folder" from

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Apple\

and

paste into

C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Apple Computer\

username is the name you use to login.

It will function




Arghhh!! this is so annoying.. it doesnt work for me.. I keep getting "Network error: Software caused connection abort" or "Connection refused"

any other sugestions?
Nekopa

Guest


I found the lockdown folder in Vista. It is on the main drive under Program Data. It is a hidden folder. Copying this to the user/appdata/roaming/applecomputer fixed the lockdown problem and now I have USB ssh access to my iPhone Smile
NONE

Guest


thanks for this forum and your help!!!!
fo011y
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2009-10-12
Posts: 1
Location: Moscow
Code:
Could not encode message as XML

Help pls
Twisted Evil
wolfparking

Guest


I was able to connect my iphone via usb/tunnel/winscp on another computer at work, but no success at home even with the lockdown folder solution. Any other ideas?

Windows XP
iphone: OS 3.0
pondstar

Guest


Anonymous wrote:
Just to clarify for other people, i am using ITS2.7, winxp, itunes 8.2 and facing this problem. After searching for whole day, finally get this solution work.

To make it clear,

copy the "Lockdown Folder" from

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Apple\

and

paste into

C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Apple Computer\

username is the name you use to login.

It will function



I came upon this thread while googling for a solution.
it works and i thank you so much.
dog657

Guest


help pleas wen i go to c/ documents and setings/ the Application Data polder i cant find it its not there i have widows home profesional and winscp i tunel i have open ssh, auto ssh, and togle ssh but i still cant find the Application Datafolder in my c/drive help Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad
drstalint63
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2008-10-06
Posts: 6
dog657 wrote:
help pleas wen i go to c/ documents and setings/ the Application Data polder i cant find it its not there i have widows home profesional and winscp i tunel i have open ssh, auto ssh, and togle ssh but i still cant find the Application Datafolder in my c/drive help Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad

do a custom search in c drive and you shall find it...
Coke

Guest


I did the LockDown solution but it's not working.
I'm on 3.1.2 with my iPhone and i can't ssh.
Am i so unlucky?
I have afc2usb installed, but i can't ssh Sad.
Another solution please?
fjcruiser

Guest


I tried copying the Lockdown folder and rebooting both phone and desktop but still no dice... this is the log I get:

. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.939 --------------------------------------------------------------------------
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.940 WinSCP Version 4.2.5 (Build 624) (OS 6.1.7600)
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.940 Login time: Thursday, December 31, 2009 5:13:38 PM
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.940 --------------------------------------------------------------------------
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.940 Session name: root@127.0.0.1
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.940 Host name: 127.0.0.1 (Port: 22)
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.941 User name: root (Password: Yes, Key file: No)
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.941 Tunnel: No
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.941 Transfer Protocol: SCP
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.941 Ping type: -, Ping interval: 30 sec; Timeout: 15 sec
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.941 Proxy: none
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.941 SSH protocol version: 2; Compression: No
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.941 Bypass authentication: No
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.941 Try agent: Yes; Agent forwarding: No; TIS/CryptoCard: No; KI: Yes; GSSAPI: No
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.942 Ciphers: aes,blowfish,3des,WARN,arcfour,des; Ssh2DES: No
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.942 SSH Bugs: -,-,-,-,-,-,-,-,-
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.942 SFTP Bugs: -,-
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.942 Return code variable: Autodetect; Lookup user groups: Yes
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.942 Shell: default, EOL: 0
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.942 Clear aliases: Yes, Unset nat.vars: Yes, Resolve symlinks: Yes
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.942 LS: ls -la, Ign LS warn: Yes, Scp1 Comp: No
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.942 Local directory: default, Remote directory: home, Update: No, Cache: Yes
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.942 Cache directory changes: Yes, Permanent: Yes
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.942 DST mode: 1
. 2009-12-31 17:13:38.942 --------------------------------------------------------------------------
. 2009-12-31 17:13:39.044 Looking up host "127.0.0.1"
. 2009-12-31 17:13:39.044 Connecting to 127.0.0.1 port 22
. 2009-12-31 17:13:40.081 Failed to connect to 127.0.0.1: Network error: Connection refused
* 2009-12-31 17:13:40.211 (ESshFatal) Network error: Connection refused.

Any suggestions??
Thanks!
alalex

Guest


Well it kind of solved something. Now in iTunnel i can go a bit further, but then in the command window it shows this:

"Could not encode message as XMLAMDeviceStartService = 0"

Anyone knows about that?
Les

Guest


<invalid hyperlink removed by admin> fixed my "Could not encode message as XML" problems
appleisgod

Guest


Confused I have a 3rd generation ipod touch OS 3.1.2 with OpenSSH installed. I go to winSCP and enter the IP address, put in my user name and my custom password and press log on. I do this by wifi. It gives me a error "Network error: Connection timed out." Why does this keep happening and does anybody have a solution? Confused
appleisgod

Guest


appleisgod wrote:
Confused I have a 3rd generation ipod touch OS 3.1.2 with OpenSSH installed. I go to winSCP and enter the IP address, put in my user name and my custom password and press log on. I do this by wifi. It gives me a error "Network error: Connection timed out." Why does this keep happening and does anybody have a solution? Confused


I got it!!! Razz
zero1

Guest


appleisgod wrote:
appleisgod wrote:
Confused I have a 3rd generation ipod touch OS 3.1.2 with OpenSSH installed. I go to winSCP and enter the IP address, put in my user name and my custom password and press log on. I do this by wifi. It gives me a error "Network error: Connection timed out." Why does this keep happening and does anybody have a solution? Confused


I got it!!! Razz


What did you do? I have this same problem, it used to work perfectly but stopped working suddenly, please help me out
C....T

Guest


i've been trying username: root password: alpine for hours and NOTHING.....i think the password "alpine" isn't working..please help
Sarian

Guest


Try this :

1)Search on Google this : iFunBox download
2)Download and install it
3) Just connect your iphone ... he will autodetect it and ther you have a perfect ssh tool ! ... no user and no pass !

It works with all O.S. .... even 3.0 that iTunnel doesn't.
GuestBR

Guest


Sarian wrote:
Try this :

1)Search on Google this : iFunBox download
2)Download and install it
3) Just connect your iphone ... he will autodetect it and ther you have a perfect ssh tool ! ... no user and no pass !

It works with all O.S. .... even 3.0 that iTunnel doesn't.


Oh my god, perfect !! Best solutions of all, thank you so much !! Mr. Green
Guest




Just a quick thank you to everyone who takes the time to help us novice-types.
Been struggling to find a cure for my Win 7 situation and the funbox works Cool
finally!!
Thank you thank you thank you!
TLeBlanc

Guest


I have an original iPhone that suddenly went belly-up over the weekend. I've been having no problems with it, not jailbroken or anything.

I have a new iPhone 3G as of Monday, so I have a working iPhone again. But I don't buy the "it's a hardware problem" that I got from the Apple Store when I brought the iPhone in to have the software re-installed to get past the error 23 I was getting with iTunes trying to do the DFU restore.

I've read through the use of WinSCP and iTunnel, as well as the i-FunBox tool. I've got all 3 installed on my desktop PC, but I can't successfully connect to the old iPhone in its current state. Had no problem connecting to the new iPhone 3G with i-FunBox, so I could see how it worked.

How do I get the old iPhone 2G to work again? This is more of a technical exercise, not planning to actually use the phone, since my AT&T service has been transferred to the new 3G. But I'd like to figure out how to get past the error 23 and make the old iPhone usable again, if possible. If for no other reason than to disprove the "it's a hardware problem" diagnosis. Make sense?

Can you assist?
Innomen

Guest


Funbox is good but it won't let you change file permissions which is why I need ssh.

Could not encode message as XMLAMDeviceStartService = 0

Lockdown folder move had no effect.
TTT.t.

Guest


I have no lockdown folder in the place u mantioned.
Plz help, gto the same problem with iTunnel and Win Scp.

Thanks in advance!
phineas and ferb

Guest


I got the same "Connection Refused" error.

Got it solved. Just had to re-install SHH. Easy as pie!
jbosari

Guest


Anonymous wrote:
Just to clarify for other people, i am using ITS2.7, winxp, itunes 8.2 and facing this problem. After searching for whole day, finally get this solution work.

To make it clear,

copy the "Lockdown Folder" from

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Apple\

and

paste into

C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Apple Computer\

username is the name you use to login.

It will function

This didn't work for me. Instead, I checked "advanced" then connection-->Tunnel. Check, "Connect through SSH tunnel"
I entered IP address next to port, root for user name, alpine for pw, then "login"
Box pops up, make sure phone is fully on. If it goes to sleep on you, you can't log on. it will prompt for password again. Enter it. Voila, you're in!
fareed

Guest


Just download iphone browser from

https://storage.googleapis.com/google-code-archive-downloads/v2/code.google.com/iphonebrowser/SetupiPhoneBrowser.1.93.exe

and it worked like a butter... Smile

Make sure OpenSSH is installed from cydia
Guest




thanks !! The ifunbox stuff really worked...I wil recommend to everyone !!!
mr.mike

Guest


hey ok well im trying to ssh my 3gs running 4.2.1 and having no luck this is what i have so far
1..went to cydia got openssh,toggle ssh also
2. got winscp423
3. opened my sbs settings and made sure ssh was on
4. restarted my phone
5. opened winscp423 log in my ip pass alpine also root
6.i set it too File Protocol to SCP since i have a 3gs
7.i tryed it log in and i get" Connection Refused

what the heck am i doing wrong?

i used my iphone 4 and it worked but my 3gs no luck

PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!

i also tryed to run as administrator
NOONE

Guest


YO!!!! use iFunBox!!!! its sooooo easy!!!
i solved my prob in 3 sec with:
1-ipod touch 4g
2-iOS 4.2.1
3-half broken no rebooting(curse celeste...damn!)

DO IT!!!
Guest

Guest


I had the same problem. Upgraded an iphone 2g to 3.1.3 and jailbroke it with snowbreeze. Evertyhing ok but for the 0xE8008001 error. Can't install some apps from itunes.

Cydia would fix that, but it won't launch. To fix cydia i apparently need an ssh-connection. That refuses to work.

Well, after a few hours i found a VERY simple solution:
(<invalid hyperlink removed by admin>)

use iphonebrowser/ifunbox/whatever and delete everything else from etc/apt/sources.list.d/ execpt saurik.list (do a backup if you like, you can set those back manually too later)

Restart cydia and do a full upgrade. That's it. Very Happy
Guest

Guest


Guest wrote:
I had the same problem. Upgraded an iphone 2g to 3.1.3 and jailbroke it with snowbreeze. Evertyhing ok but for the 0xE8008001 error. Can't install some apps from itunes.

Cydia would fix that, but it won't launch. To fix cydia i apparently need an ssh-connection. That refuses to work.

Well, after a few hours i found a VERY simple solution:
(<invalid hyperlink removed by admin>)

use iphonebrowser/ifunbox/whatever and delete everything else from etc/apt/sources.list.d/ execpt saurik.list (do a backup if you like, you can set those back manually too later)

Restart cydia and do a full upgrade. That's it. Very Happy


also, look at this:
http://developerinstincts.blogspot.com/2009/12/ssh-to-iphone-via-usb.html

there are different versions for the tunnel that work with different versions of itunes etc.
Guest

Guest


This works for me with fw 3.1.3 in 2g

With winscp + ifunbox try this:
Run ifunbox, if it finds the open port automatically connect with winscp like this:

advanced settings ->
ssh: enable legacy use of single-DES in SSH-2
connection: enable connect through tunnel -> hostname: type here the ip which should be shown in ifunbox
session: connect to 127.0.0.1

wait for login
jayswifey176

Guest


hi i keep having the 15 second timeout error on winscp on windows 7 i have an 4th gen ipod touch ios 5 please email me nellspearsjob@yahoo.com to help me out.
zOnDazAyD

Guest


sup

when i enter my ip address on my ipone 4 running ios5 and i enter the User name & Password which is :root pass: alpine then when i click on Login some kind of error reconnect in 5s :S i dont know what 2 do! peeps! Question Neutral
cl604

Guest


iFunbox worked like a charm! Just download that and plug in your iPhone, I have the iPhone 4, once detected, you can access all the files!
Guest




Nekopa wrote:
I found the lockdown folder in Vista. It is on the main drive under Program Data. It is a hidden folder. Copying this to the user/appdata/roaming/applecomputer fixed the lockdown problem and now I have USB ssh access to my iPhone Smile
it doesnt work where do i put this stuff in for it to work???
Prince2Fresh

Guest


Nekopa wrote:
I found the lockdown folder in Vista. It is on the main drive under Program Data. It is a hidden folder. Copying this to the user/appdata/roaming/applecomputer fixed the lockdown problem and now I have USB ssh access to my iPhone Smile
it doesnt work where do i put this stuff in for it to work???
Prince2Fresh

Guest


Prince2Fresh wrote:
Nekopa wrote:
I found the lockdown folder in Vista. It is on the main drive under Program Data. It is a hidden folder. Copying this to the user/appdata/roaming/applecomputer fixed the lockdown problem and now I have USB ssh access to my iPhone Smile
it doesnt work where do i put this stuff in for it to work???
Where do i find folder in WIndows 7..
Cas ba1

Guest


Sarian wrote:
Try this :

1)Search on Google this : iFunBox download
2)Download and install it
3) Just connect your iphone ... he will autodetect it and ther you have a perfect ssh tool ! ... no user and no pass !

It works with all O.S. .... even 3.0 that iTunnel doesn't.

This worked perfectly. Quick and easy download, free, and easy to use! Thanks!! =D
Cas ba1

Guest


After I literally JUST got the iFunBox, i saw the OpenSSH option. I tried it, and it told me to make sure OpenSSH is installed on my device... I might be the only one, but after I restored my iPod, I forgot to reinstall the OpenSSH. After i reinstalled it, WinSCP worked perfectly. Hope this helps a lot of people, and I wasn't the only person just being dumb.
IRath

Guest


Guest wrote:
Anonymous wrote:
Just to clarify for other people, i am using ITS2.7, winxp, itunes 8.2 and facing this problem. After searching for whole day, finally get this solution work.

To make it clear,

copy the "Lockdown Folder" from

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Apple\

and

paste into

C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Apple Computer\

username is the name you use to login.

It will function




Arghhh!! this is so annoying.. it doesnt work for me.. I keep getting "Network error: Software caused connection abort" or "Connection refused"

any other sugestions?


I stuck with this problem also. How to fix it?
wero

Guest


Cas ba1 wrote:
After I literally JUST got the iFunBox, i saw the OpenSSH option. I tried it, and it told me to make sure OpenSSH is installed on my device... I might be the only one, but after I restored my iPod, I forgot to reinstall the OpenSSH. After i reinstalled it, WinSCP worked perfectly. Hope this helps a lot of people, and I wasn't the only person just being dumb.



GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SOLVED THANK YOU SO MUCH I JUST NEEDED TO DOWNLOAD "OPENSSH" FROM CYDIA and it worked perfectly thanxs Idea Very Happy Laughing
WERO

Guest


wero wrote:
Cas ba1 wrote:
After I literally JUST got the iFunBox, i saw the OpenSSH option. I tried it, and it told me to make sure OpenSSH is installed on my device... I might be the only one, but after I restored my iPod, I forgot to reinstall the OpenSSH. After i reinstalled it, WinSCP worked perfectly. Hope this helps a lot of people, and I wasn't the only person just being dumb.



GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SOLVED THANK YOU SO MUCH I JUST NEEDED TO DOWNLOAD "OPENSSH" FROM CYDIA and it worked perfectly thanxs Idea Very Happy Laughing


BY THE WAY IM USING WINDOWS 7, IOS 6.0.1 (IPOD)
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License