Closing log window disables it also on next connect

Advertisement

Schnulla
Joined:
Posts:
16

Closing log window disables it also on next connect

I have the log window enabled for my stored sessions
because I always want the log window to be displayed.

To do this I marked the checkbox at "Show log window"
under Session -> Logging and then hit the "Save..."
button at the bottom.

But the very annoying thing is that when I close the
log window after having logged in, the next time I
start WinSCP and load my stored session the log
window is disabled and the checkbox is not marked.

So it seems closing the log window also deletes
the saved setting value for the checkbox?

Closing the window should not invalidate my
saved settings in the stored session.

P.S. I'm using WinSCP v.4.2.4 beta on Windows 7

Reply with quote

Advertisement

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
28,542
Location:
Prague, Czechia

Re: Closing log window disables it also on next connect

Logging settings are global, not per-session. Please read documentation.
_________________
Martin Prikryl

Reply with quote

Schnulla
Joined:
Posts:
16

Ok thanks but even if they are global it is
annoying that the global setting is disabled
when the log window is closed (closing a
window should not clear a checkbox).

Reply with quote

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
28,542
Location:
Prague, Czechia

Schnulla wrote:

Ok thanks but even if they are global it is
annoying that the global setting is disabled
when the log window is closed (closing a
window should not clear a checkbox).
The setting says "show log window", not "open log window when session starts". So it perfectly correct to uncheck it when log window is closed.
_________________
Martin Prikryl

Reply with quote

Schnulla
Joined:
Posts:
16

martin wrote:

The setting says "show log window", not "open log window when session starts". So it perfectly correct to uncheck it when log window is closed.

This is not intuitive behavior and I can't remember
any other relevant software that changes persistent
settings just because a window is closed which is
not the configuration window itself.

Reply with quote

Advertisement

You can post new topics in this forum