Topic "Using WinSCP to transfer files by SFTP, errors"

Author Message
Brent_badger
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2009-11-06
Posts: 8
Location: NC
If I transfer files manually from my local directory to the FTP remote site, there are no errors. However, if I execute this command from the command line:

put C:\edi810\810_091105.* /tovan/edi

I get an error that says "Can not execute put command."

I am using WinSCP 4.2.1 and am using TLS Explicit Encryption.

What am I missing? I would very much like to automate this transfer, but I can't even get the basic commands right.
Advertisements
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 25015
Location: Prague, Czechia
There's no such error message in WinSCP. Where do you execute the command from actually?
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Brent_badger
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2009-11-06
Posts: 8
Location: NC
prikryl wrote:
There's no such error message in WinSCP. Where do you execute the command from actually?


YES THERE IS!!!

I go to the WinSCP window, logged into the FTP site.

Where it says "Command>" I type in:

put C:\edi810\810_091109* /tovan/edi/*.edi

I hit Enter.

A message box comes up and says "ERROR: CAN NOT EXECUTE PUT"

[/b]
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 25015
Location: Prague, Czechia
Sorry, there's no 'command>' prompt in WinSCP. I really have no idea what you mean. Can you post a screenshot?

Any chance you mean the console window?
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Brent_badger
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2009-11-06
Posts: 8
Location: NC
prikryl wrote:
Sorry, there's no 'command>' prompt in WinSCP. I really have no idea what you mean. Can you post a screenshot?

Any chance you mean the console window?


No, the Command Line
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 25015
Location: Prague, Czechia
So can you post a screenshot?
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Brent_badger
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2009-11-06
Posts: 8
Location: NC
<invalid hyperlink removed by admin>
[/img]
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 25015
Location: Prague, Czechia
OK, now I understand. You cannot use scripting commands from the command line in the GUI. See documentation for more details about using scripting commands.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License