Topic "Connecting to Network Drives through WinSCP"

Author Message
scottpioso
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2003-12-04
Posts: 4
Hi,

I'm sorry if some might think this a stupid question, but I've just recently been told about this software and I have a question about it.

My users need to have their lives as simple as possible. My users run Windows 2000 Professional on their desktops and connect to my Linux server. The folders they have access to are set up as Network Drives. Is it possible when using this software to set it up so that the end user is totally unaware of any changes in its interface? When the users login to Windows, I wish their interface to be as it is now. The only thing I wish to be different is them having a secure session when transmitting date to/from the server.

My reason for doing this is because my server is going to be off site in the next few months and I want a secure connection between us. Thank you in advance!
_________________
Scott E. Pioso
Advertisements
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24991
Location: Prague, Czechia
scottpioso wrote:
Is it possible when using this software to set it up so that the end user is totally unaware of any changes in its interface? When the users login to Windows, I wish their interface to be as it is now.

I'm sorry, but I do not understand, what you mean by this Sad
_________________
Martin Prikryl
scottpioso
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2003-12-04
Posts: 4
Hello,

What I mean is, is it possible to use this software to create a secure (SSL) connection from a Windows box to a Linux box and have it transparent to the end user.


For example, my users have their home folders on Linux redirected from their Windows My Documents folder. And I have a great deal of personal Windows software that I have on the Linux box for their use.

My Documents is redirected to a Network Drive letter (I) and the software folder is the (S) Drive. When the Windows machine starts and the users log in, they are connected to the Network Drives via the NetUse command. By using this software, can I maintain my settings on the Windows machine the way they are now so that my users do not have to be disturbed with new things on their machines?

I hope this clarifies for you the exact nature of my question. Thank you.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24991
Location: Prague, Czechia
OK, now I understand this. If you have searched the forume you would find several requests for this. And also you would find my answer that I consider this to be very difficult, so I probably would not have a time for this Sad
_________________
Martin Prikryl
scottpioso
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2003-12-04
Posts: 4
Hello,

So what exactly are you saying? I don't fully understand you. Are you saying you don't have time to answer my question or that it's too complicated for you to answer?
_________________
Scott E. Pioso
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24991
Location: Prague, Czechia
scottpioso wrote:
So what exactly are you saying? I don't fully understand you. Are you saying you don't have time to answer my question or that it's too complicated for you to answer?

No, I'm saying that to implement, what you ask, is very difficult and I do not have time to do it.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
scottpioso
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2003-12-04
Posts: 4
Okay,

Well, this isn't meant to sound sarcastic or rude, but if you don't have time to answer questions, why do you have this forum in the first place? I didn't think what I'm saying is that incredbily complicated, but evidently you do.
_________________
Scott E. Pioso
pholzmann

Guest


Scott,
This isn't meant to sound sarcastic or rude, but you might want to read his reply more carefully. Wink

Of course he gives time to answer questions...

He said that implementing what you are asking for is too hard and too time-consuming. It is a hard thing to accomplish... particularly to do it in a transparent way.
Guest




pholzmann wrote:
Scott,
This isn't meant to sound sarcastic or rude, but you might want to read his reply more carefully. Wink

Of course he gives time to answer questions...

He said that implementing what you are asking for is too hard and too time-consuming. It is a hard thing to accomplish... particularly to do it in a transparent way.


Pholzman, thank you for your input, but I would appreciate you not putting your two cents into things that you were not privied to in the first place. This was a discussion between the gentleman and myself and did not involve you. Thank you.
Guest




Anonymous wrote:
pholzmann wrote:
Scott,
This isn't meant to sound sarcastic or rude, but you might want to read his reply more carefully. Wink

Of course he gives time to answer questions...

He said that implementing what you are asking for is too hard and too time-consuming. It is a hard thing to accomplish... particularly to do it in a transparent way.


Pholzman, thank you for your input, but I would appreciate you not putting your two cents into things that you were not privied to in the first place. This was a discussion between the gentleman and myself and did not involve you. Thank you.


In addition, I have found that I can do what I would like with a VPN.
dax

Guest


Wow. One cannot understand the word "implement" Shocked Very Happy

Anonymous wrote:
Anonymous wrote:
pholzmann wrote:
Scott,
This isn't meant to sound sarcastic or rude, but you might want to read his reply more carefully. Wink

Of course he gives time to answer questions...

He said that implementing what you are asking for is too hard and too time-consuming. It is a hard thing to accomplish... particularly to do it in a transparent way.


Pholzman, thank you for your input, but I would appreciate you not putting your two cents into things that you were not privied to in the first place. This was a discussion between the gentleman and myself and did not involve you. Thank you.


In addition, I have found that I can do what I would like with a VPN.
Guest




Hi,

I just wanted to add that I also would really like some mapped drive feature.

I don't need at all a nice windows-interface, but this is what I would like to accomplish:
1) connect to my distant LINUX RH8 machine using ssh
2) use a directory structure over there as if it were local on my W2000 machine.

I need this actually only for eclipse ( a java IDE, but in this case I use the IDE for PHP-development).

A 'kind of far ssh-mount to my local W2000 machine' that is.
Maybe I use all the wrong words, in that case, just shoot me. Smile

Can anybody advise me what to do?
I can run Putty and WinSCP both nicely on my Win2000, and they both connect good to my distant RH8 machine.
But how to map my far RH8 folders to my local W2000 machine??

TIA!!
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24991
Location: Prague, Czechia
Anonymous wrote:
But how to map my far RH8 folders to my local W2000 machine??


I do not know of any tool that can do this via SSH.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
irozic

Guest


Samba or NFS can make Linux/Unix space available to windows machine.
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License