Topic "Different context menu (right mouse click on a file) in Win7"

Author Message
Agent
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2010-02-23
Posts: 10
Hi,

not sure if this is a bug or just a configuration issue.
Im using Windows 7 64bit an WinSCP.

When doing a right mouse click on a file the context menu is different in windows explorer & winscp.
What Im missing when doing this right mouse click in winscp is for example the submenu for winzip or 7zip.

Attached pickture maybe show it better than 1000 words Wink

Is this a configuration issue in winscp or a bug/ limitation on windows 7?
I had winscp on XP installed before and never had this issue there.

Any thoughts?

Kind regards Agent

<invalid hyperlink removed by admin>
MD5: 8C38A4B7614518BCE670D64A5E75229D [/img]
Advertisements
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 25034
Location: Prague, Czechia
It is probably because the winzip and 7zip register the context menu extensions for 64bit processes only. WinSCP is 32bit process.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Agent
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2010-02-23
Posts: 10
Hi prikryl,

I don't think so, because at least my installation of winzip is a 32bit version.
Im really missing at least this 2 menus cause Im very often (7)ziping files before transferring
them.
As you did not mention that to be a configuration issue in winscp, any chance to get this reported
as a bug.
It is really very uncomfortable to prior use the windows explorer doing this tasks before I can use
winscp to transfer.
Really looking for some solution here because winscp has become my favorite over the years Smile

Regards Agent
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 25034
Location: Prague, Czechia
Agent wrote:
I don't think so, because at least my installation of winzip is a 32bit version.

That does not necessarily mean it did not install 64bit extension. I'll check it.

Quote:
As you did not mention that to be a configuration issue in winscp, any chance to get this reported as a bug.

It is not a bug. 32bit process cannot interact with 64bit shell extension.
Agent
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2010-02-23
Posts: 10
prikryl wrote:
I'll check it.


Really very much appreciated cause I really really miss that one Very Happy

Thanks in advance. Looking forward to your findings.

Kind regards Agent
Agent
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2010-02-23
Posts: 10
Hi Martin,

Any update on this one?
I've now installed tortoise svn (64bit) and this one also does not appear in the context menu
when using winscp. But it show up in explorer.
Is there any chance to workaround this? maybe by some manual registry adjustments related
to winscp?
Or would a 64bit version of winscp work?

Regards Agent
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 25034
Location: Prague, Czechia
Agent wrote:
Any update on this one?

No update yet.

Quote:
Or would a 64bit version of winscp work?

Yes it would help. But that's long term goal.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
bkel

Guest


Agent wrote:

I've now installed tortoise svn (64bit) and this one also does not appear in the context menu


If you install the 32bit version of tortoise svn you will probably find that the context menu appears for you (untested for WinSCP but it worked for me in another program). You can safely install the 32bit version alongside the 64bit version, just install it under a different name "TortoiseSVN 32bit" or similar.
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License