Separate session histories; disconnect after download

Advertisement

Siemova
Joined:
Posts:
2

Separate session histories; disconnect after download

I use WinSCP daily, so I really appreciate all the work you've put into it. I have a couple of suggestions which I believe would make it even better:

  • I suppose this one is half bug, half request. :) As of 4.2.8 (though it's always been the case, in my experience), here's how to replicate the issue:

    • Open a session and navigate through several directories. Open another session and do the same.
    • Notice the history arrow drop-downs intermingle directories from all open sessions.
    • Click on a directory in the drop-down from any session other than the current one. The program throws an error.
    Could you completely separate the histories instead, so that when we switch to another session, or open a new one, the arrows only navigate directories for that session?
  • Sometimes I choose to have WinSCP disconnect from the server once a large download is complete. If I select this, when the time comes to disconnect, a dialog appears, asking whether I want to terminate the other connections as well, and counting down to reconnection. Most of the time, I want WinSCP to disconnect from that server but remain open for further work in another session. I would like to be able to save that as my default preference, but the program does not currently allow this. I have to sit and watch the download just to make sure I don't miss the few seconds during the countdown when I can say that, yes, I really did want to close that session. Sort of defeats the purpose of selecting that option in the first place, doesn't it? I've already made my choice, but it's asking me to make it again -- with a (short) time limit, no less!

    How about adding a "Close WinSCP" option to the "Once Finished" drop-down, and getting rid of that second dialog altogether? Then, perhaps, in Preferences you could also allow us to choose which option will be selected by default.
Thanks!

Reply with quote

Advertisement

Siemova
Joined:
Posts:
2

Actually, I just noticed that there's already an option to automatically close the program after a transfer. That's peachy, but it does make the dialog after automatic disconnect all the more puzzling and unnecessary.

Reply with quote

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
27,253
Location:
Prague, Czechia

Re: Separate session histories; disconnect after download

Siemova wrote:

I suppose this one is half bug, half request. :) As of 4.2.8 (though it's always been the case, in my experience), here's how to replicate the issue:

  • Open a session and navigate through several directories. Open another session and do the same.
  • Notice the history arrow drop-downs intermingle directories from all open sessions.
  • Click on a directory in the drop-down from any session other than the current one. The program throws an error.
Could you completely separate the histories instead, so that when we switch to another session, or open a new one, the arrows only navigate directories for that session?
This bug has been added to tracker.

[*]Sometimes I choose to have WinSCP disconnect from the server once a large download is complete. If I select this, when the time comes to disconnect, a dialog appears, asking whether I want to terminate the other connections as well, and counting down to reconnection. Most of the time, I want WinSCP to disconnect from that server but remain open for further work in another session. I would like to be able to save that as my default preference, but the program does not currently allow this. I have to sit and watch the download just to make sure I don't miss the few seconds during the countdown when I can say that, yes, I really did want to close that session. Sort of defeats the purpose of selecting that option in the first place, doesn't it? I've already made my choice, but it's asking me to make it again -- with a (short) time limit, no less!
This bug has been added to tracker.

How about adding a "Close WinSCP" option to the "Once Finished" drop-down, and getting rid of that second dialog altogether? Then, perhaps, in Preferences you could also allow us to choose which option will be selected by default.
This request has been added to tracker.

Reply with quote

dtanders
Guest

I think the fix for this bug may have broken the Duplicate Session feature slightly. Now, when I duplicate a session, the new session (named Session_Name(2)) doesn't get a copy of the old session's path history. It starts 'rooted' at the same path the first session was on when I make the copy.

This history copy was, I thought, the main reason to have a Duplicate Session button (rather than having to open a new one each time).

Reply with quote

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
27,253
Location:
Prague, Czechia

dtanders wrote:

I think the fix for this bug may have broken the Duplicate Session feature slightly. Now, when I duplicate a session, the new session (named Session_Name(2)) doesn't get a copy of the old session's path history. It starts 'rooted' at the same path the first session was on when I make the copy.

This history copy was, I thought, the main reason to have a Duplicate Session button (rather than having to open a new one each time).
Well actually the fact the path history seemed to be "preserved" when duplicating session was unplanned side effect. I wasn't aware of it until now.

Request for this feature has been added to tracker.
_________________
Martin Prikryl

Reply with quote

Advertisement

You can post new topics in this forum