File deletion on 2-way sync

Advertisement

Josef
Joined:
Posts:
3
Location:
Austria

File deletion on 2-way sync

I would love if someone could implement the following feature:

When doing a two-way sync of directorys add a option to specify a info-file where file size/time of files is stored.

If there is information stored in the file, handle the following cases:

- File exists on A and has same size/time as in the info-file, doesn't exist in B:
DELETE on A
- File exists on A and has different size/time as in the info-file, doesn't exist in B:
COPY from A to B
- File exists on A and B and has different size/time than in the info-file:
COPY newer file, overwrite older

Of course the same with A and B switched.

After every sync write the names/paths of all existing files and their size and time into the info-file.

This would allow to sync files both ways, while allowing users to delete files.

I would need this, because I have a Server at home and some space at a web hosting company.
While at home, I and my family members want to use the server at home to access the files, because it is fast on the internal network.
While away, this is slow (because the home connection has only 1,5Mbit/s upload), so it is better to access the webspace which has a 100Mbit/s shared connection.
I sync the files every 10min, so there are probably always only changes on one side.

Reply with quote

Advertisement

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
27,252
Location:
Prague, Czechia

Re: File deletion on 2-way sync

Thanks for your post. Let's see if more people find this useful :)
_________________
Martin Prikryl

Reply with quote

Wary
Guest

I totally support this request!
Now it is not possible to use a directory that gets regularly synced to work in, because e.g. Word creates a lot of temp files, and all this files will be synced and then the folder is full of such waste!

Reply with quote

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
27,252
Location:
Prague, Czechia

Wary wrote:

I totally support this request!
Now it is not possible to use a directory that gets regularly synced to work in, because e.g. Word creates a lot of temp files, and all this files will be synced and then the folder is full of such waste!
You can put them on exclusion list:
https://winscp.net/eng/docs/ui_transfer_custom#other

Reply with quote

Advertisement

You can post new topics in this forum