Topic "5.5.3>5.5.4 requires reenter of passphrase even though saved"

Author Message
u01jmg3
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2014-04-16
Posts: 5
I use WinSCP Portable which means to update I download the new version and then replace the 'data' folder with that of my old version so that all my site definitions are imported. This process of using the portable version and updating in this way has worked well without issue for a long time now. However, updating from 5.5.3 to 5.5.4 I noticed that for sites where I am using a private key, even though my passphrase is saved with the site definition, 5.5.4 keeps asking for my passphrase every time I open a new connection.

See demo - https://i.imgur.com/vgPPOgE.gif

Here my connection has the correct passphrase saved already. I double-click to open the connection and WinSCP 5.5.4 prompts me to re-enter the same passphrase already saved against the site definition. I then paste in the same passphrase in the prompt and my connection is opened successfully. Not sure why it's prompting as falling back to v5.5.3 everything works as it should.
Advertisements
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24995
Location: Prague, Czechia
Are you talking about a private key passphrase or a password. The passphrase cannot be saved.

Please attach a full log file showing the problem (using the latest version of WinSCP).

To generate log file, enable logging, log in to your server and do the operation and only the operation that causes the error. Submit the log with your post as an attachment. Note that passwords and passphrases not stored in the log. You may want to remove other data you consider sensitive though, such as host names, IP addresses, account names or file names (unless they are relevant to the problem). If you do not want to post the log publicly, you can mark the attachment as private.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
u01jmg3
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2014-04-16
Posts: 5
Yes, I am talking about a passphrase.

In 5.5.3 you can save a passphrase - I can make another demo GIF demonstrating the same saved connection (as used in my previous GIF for 5.5.4) but this time I am not prompted to enter my passphrase as it is already saved.

Logs attached for both 5.5.3 and 5.5.4
logs.zip (3.25 KB) Private file

Description: Logs for both v5.5.3 (which lets me in with my saved passphrase) and v5.5.4 (which prompts me for my passphrase even though it is saved)

martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24995
Location: Prague, Czechia
OK, you are right. But that's was an unintended behavior in 5.5 - 5.5.3.
Actually this bug:
https://winscp.net/tracker/show_bug.cgi?id=1176
Though its wording does not cover your scenario that I was not aware of until now.
u01jmg3
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2014-04-16
Posts: 5
How do I therefore save my passphrase with my connection details so I am not prompted every time I connect using a private key?
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24995
Location: Prague, Czechia
Please read documentation:
https://winscp.net/eng/docs/faq_passphrase
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License