Topic "upgrade to 5.9.5 has stopped auto log in"

Author Message
basbrian
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2017-05-24
Posts: 4
Location: Australia
i have just updated from 5.5.3 to 5.9.5. In 5.5.3 a person (who has now left) set up a shortcut that logged on without asking for the passphrase. now when i click onto the shortcut, it asks me for the passphrase. How do i fix this?
new winscp.JPG (28.08 KB)

Description: vers 5.9.5

new winscp.JPG

old winscp.JPG (33.21 KB)

Description: vers 5.5.3

old winscp.JPG

Advertisements
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 26299
Location: Prague, Czechia
Please attach full log files from both versions.

To generate the session log file, enable logging, log in to your server and do the operation and only the operation that causes the error. Submit the log with your post as an attachment. Note that passwords and passphrases not stored in the log. You may want to remove other data you consider sensitive though, such as host names, IP addresses, account names or file names (unless they are relevant to the problem). If you do not want to post the log publicly, you can mark the attachment as private.
basbrian
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2017-05-24
Posts: 4
Location: Australia
martin wrote:
Please attach full log files from both versions.


Martin, I am going to attach 3 log files - 5.5.3 log file, 5.9.5 log file with passphase entered and 5.9.5 log file cancel clicked when prompted for passphrase. also screenshots of the logon screens.
APDM-PRD cancel.log (8.98 KB) Private file

Description: 5.9.5 cancel

APDM-PRD.log (161.68 KB) Private file

Description: 5.9.5 entered passphrase

APDM-PRD553.log (167.02 KB) Private file

Description: 5.5.3

basbrian
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2017-05-24
Posts: 4
Location: Australia
[quote="martin"]Please attach full log files from both versions.
winscp595.JPG (49.56 KB) Private file

Description: (none)

winscp553.JPG (48.93 KB) Private file

Description: (none)

martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 26299
Location: Prague, Czechia
OK, I see. You have stored the passphrase as a "password".

There was actually a bug in older versions of WinSCP that made it try the stored password as a passphrase. That was not intentional. It's fixed in the latest version.

This may help you:
https://winscp.net/eng/docs/faq_passphrase
basbrian
[View user's profile]

Joined: 2017-05-24
Posts: 4
Location: Australia
Working now.Thanks for your time Martin. Very Happy
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License