Turning off backup copy when overwriting a file using the GUI

Advertisement

sda
Joined:
Posts:
3

Turning off backup copy when overwriting a file using the GUI

When I use the GUI to copy how do I turn off winscp making a backup copy of the file I am overwriting ? It backs up the replaced file by renaming it with a time and date stamp in the name before copying the new file.

Reply with quote

Advertisement

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar
Joined:
Posts:
28,285
Location:
Prague, Czechia

Re: Turning off backup copy when overwriting a file using the GUI

So then, isn't it the server itself that does the backup?

Please attach a full session log file showing the problem (using the latest version of WinSCP).

To generate the session log file, enable logging, log in to your server and do the operation and only the operation that causes the error. Submit the log with your post as an attachment. Note that passwords and passphrases not stored in the log. You may want to remove other data you consider sensitive though, such as host names, IP addresses, account names or file names (unless they are relevant to the problem). If you do not want to post the log publicly, you can mark the attachment as private.

Reply with quote

sda
Joined:
Posts:
3

Re: Turning off backup copy when overwriting a file using the GUI

martin wrote:

So then, isn't it the server itself that does the backup?

Please attach a full session log file showing the problem (using the latest version of WinSCP).

To generate the session log file, enable logging, log in to your server and do the operation and only the operation that causes the error. Submit the log with your post as an attachment. Note that passwords and passphrases not stored in the log. You may want to remove other data you consider sensitive though, such as host names, IP addresses, account names or file names (unless they are relevant to the problem). If you do not want to post the log publicly, you can mark the attachment as private.

Hi Martin, you were right. The server side sftp software was renaming the original file. Its weird that this setting was suddenly enabled.

Thanks
Simon

Reply with quote

Advertisement

You can post new topics in this forum