Download Script Not Working

Advertisement

claudia888

Download Script Not Working

Hi ,

I've been using WinSCP on an older computer since 2017, and it has been working great. Now we have a new computer running Windows 11, and I just downloaded the latest version of WinSCP, however the script is not working – and I'm trying to access the same SFTP server, folder and download the same file. Nothing on my SFTP server side changed.

Here's the old script:
option batch on
option confirm off
open backupdb@111.222.333.444
option transfer binary
get /home/backupdb/backup/* c:\ABCBackup\ABCDB\*
exit
I read the WinSCP support and changed the command for open from using site to session url, but it still does not work.

Here is the new script:
option batch on
option confirm off
open sftp://backupdb@111.222.333.444/
option transfer binary
get home/backupdb/backup/* C:\ABCBackup\ABCDB\*
exit
Please let me know if the script is correct? I appreciate your help.

Advertisement

martin
Site Admin
martin avatar

Re: Download Script Not Working

Your post does not really contain much information.
We need at least any error you are getting or better a log file.
See also https://winscp.net/eng/docs/troubleshooting#scripting

Though in general your script is missing a hostkey. The script might have worked on the old machine, because the host key was cached there. We do not recommend to rely on a cached host keys for this very reason.
See https://winscp.net/eng/docs/scripting#hostkey and
Why WinSCP does not work in a new environment (operating system, machine, user account, network), when it works for me in a different environment already?

claudia888

Download Script Not Working - 2nd Post

HI Martin,

I read thru the documentation you provided; and added the hostkey to my script; but it still did not work. I have enabled the log as well.

Here is what I did: