Topic ""Network error, Connection timed out", or "Host does not exist""

Author Message
Bob Heasman

Guest


Just installed Win98SE. Have two other machines running Linux close by. They are connected via a hub. They talk to each other perfectly. When I try comnnecting using 192.168.0.21 with user name and password I get the first of the above. When I use its name "orca" I get the second of the above. Have fitted new ether net card and the hub is brand new.
I had the same trouble previously with WIN.ME but suddenly it began to work one day and I know not why?
Crying or Very sad Sad Mad Question
Sometimes I get "no route to host"?
Advertisements
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24993
Location: Prague, Czechia
Can you post a log file for "Connection timed out" case?
_________________
Martin Prikryl
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24993
Location: Prague, Czechia
Please read documentation for explanation of common error messages when connecting.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
saiyan26

Guest


Hi, I'm trying to connect to my iPod Touch, I've done it before but I had to restore my iPod, now it says connection refused. I tried to check firewall but its already turned off, I don't understand the other solutions. Sad
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24993
Location: Prague, Czechia
saiyan26 wrote:
Hi, I'm trying to connect to my iPod Touch, I've done it before but I had to restore my iPod, now it says connection refused. I tried to check firewall but its already turned off, I don't understand the other solutions. Sad

Have you reinstalled the BSD subsystem and OpenSSH services?
_________________
Martin Prikryl
takui

Guest


Hello, I've the same problem too. Sometimes connect, sometimes no. Yesterday I've resynch back to my iphone the agenda, contacts etc, and now it's hangup on the startup, giving me the connection time out error. I've tryed reinstalling the openssh on the phone, but not works. The bsd subsytem can't be uninstall, so that isn't possible to try.

Anyway, it's quite strange. The connection works well, I'm surfing with wifi with no problem, only winscp don't works. Can someone help me (us)?
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24993
Location: Prague, Czechia
Also please read documentation on "Host does not exist" error or other errors.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Guest




I need to figure out HOW TO FIND MY PASSWORD for winscp. I believe my error is coming from the incorrect password being used. if you could email me at kawslife@yahoo.com, I'd appreciate it!!
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24993
Location: Prague, Czechia
Anonymous wrote:
I need to figure out HOW TO FIND MY PASSWORD for winscp. I believe my error is coming from the incorrect password being used. if you could email me at kawslife@yahoo.com, I'd appreciate it!!

Please read FAQ. If that does not help, come back.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Guest




prikryl wrote:
Anonymous wrote:
I need to figure out HOW TO FIND MY PASSWORD for winscp. I believe my error is coming from the incorrect password being used. if you could email me at kawslife@yahoo.com, I'd appreciate it!!

Please read FAQ. If that does not help, come back.


it didn't work.. I tried all the self help support pages.. trying a new ip, making sure I used the right ip and sch, tried logging in anonymous, and with just the user name, turned off my firewall, etc etc... and it still doesn't work.
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin
Joined: 2002-12-10
Posts: 24993
Location: Prague, Czechia
Anonymous wrote:
it didn't work.. I tried all the self help support pages.. trying a new ip, making sure I used the right ip and sch, tried logging in anonymous, and with just the user name, turned off my firewall, etc etc... and it still doesn't work.

You were asking how to find a password, I do not understand what IP address or firewall have to do with it.
_________________
Martin Prikryl
Guest




prikryl wrote:
Anonymous wrote:
it didn't work.. I tried all the self help support pages.. trying a new ip, making sure I used the right ip and sch, tried logging in anonymous, and with just the user name, turned off my firewall, etc etc... and it still doesn't work.

You were asking how to find a password, I do not understand what IP address or firewall have to do with it.


I was telling you all the options I tried to get into my files to figure out the password... needless to say, I still don't have my pw or access to my files. what more do I have to do to get some assistance here?? I deploy on Monday, so hopefully by then I'll have my password.
Guest




Anonymous wrote:
prikryl wrote:
Anonymous wrote:
it didn't work.. I tried all the self help support pages.. trying a new ip, making sure I used the right ip and sch, tried logging in anonymous, and with just the user name, turned off my firewall, etc etc... and it still doesn't work.

You were asking how to find a password, I do not understand what IP address or firewall have to do with it.


I was telling you all the options I tried to get into my files to figure out the password... needless to say, I still don't have my pw or access to my files. what more do I have to do to get some assistance here?? I deploy on Monday, so hopefully by then I'll have my password.


disregard... I guessed correctly and find the password on my own.
Advertisements

You can post new topics in this forum






Search Site

What is WinSCP?

It is award-winning SFTP client, SCP client, FTPS client and FTP client integrated into one software program for file transfer to FTP server or secure SFTP server. [More]

And it's free!

Donate

About donations

$9   $19   $49   $99

About donations

Recommend

WinSCP Privacy Policy

WinSCP License