Topic "Collect list of filenames from remote directory"

Jerrys

Please forgive me is this has been asked before (I am new to this).

Using the "ls" command to list the files in a remote directory is easy enough. But what I would like to do it to redirect the output of this command to a disk file in the local directory (Windows). In essence, I am just trying to get a list of the files in the remote directory to use for other purposes.

I have looked through the documentation, but I don't see anything that addresses redirection like this.

Any suggestions?

Thank you!
Jerry
Advertisements
Jerrys

Sorry ... I forgot to mention that I am using WinSCP 4.16 with the SCP protocol in a scripting file at the command prompt in Windows. The remote computer runs Linux.
Jerrys

Never mind, I figured out how to do it from the command line when I call WinSCP.com (I had assumed that I would have to do it from within the session).

And sorry for posting in the wrong forum ...
sp

Hi Jerrys, i would like to get the list of filenames from remote directory in a text file. How do you manage to solve this issue?
JerryS

I am on an Windows workstation and talking to a Linux remote server.

Basically, I set up a script file called "dolist.txt" containing the WINSCP commands that would list the contents of the all the directories on the remote server that I needed. Sort of like this:

ls ../usr/Current/Acrobat/
ls ../usr/Current/ASCII/
ls ../usr/Current/CSV/
exit

Then I started WINSCP like this:

winscp.com <root>:<password>@<ipaddress> /script=dolist.txt > file.txt

(Make sure that you have winscp.com in your search path ... it's easier that way)

Anyway, that put the entire output from all the "ls" commands into one file (file.txt)

It's not the nicest answer, but at least it got what I needed (for now).

I hope this helps you.

JerryS
martin
[View user's profile]
Site Admin